Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Jerry 'Boogie' McCain - Retrospectives: Jerry McCain (Reissue) (2006)

24-11-2015, 08:59
Music | Blues | Rock

Title: Retrospectives: Jerry McCain
Year Of Release: 2006
Label: Ichiban Records
Genre: Blues, Louisiana Blues, Harmonica Blues
Quality: Mp3/320
Total Time: 59:03 Min
Total Size: 143 Mb


1. Blues Tribute
2. Messin' With Me Baby
3. Sue Somebody
4. Burn The Crackhouse Down
5. I Got The Blues All Over Me
6. Brand New Mojo
7. Tumblin' In The Sea
8. Spoiled Rotten To The Bone
9. Strut Your Stuff
10. Lucy Pearl
11. Love Makin' Showdown
12. The World's On Fire

When Jerry McCain re-emerged on Ichiban in 1989 after many years of not doing nearly enough recording, followers of the Alabama native were delighted to see him back in the studio again. This 1998 CD (which spans 1989-1993) points to the fact that while his Ichiban output may not have been in a class with his great Excello recordings of the 1950s, he could still blow a mean harp and make us laugh with his funny, insightful storytelling. "Brand New Mojo" and "Spoiled Rotten to the Bone" are excellent examples of how witty he can be, and on "Sue Somebody," he takes an amusing jab at Americans who file frivolous lawsuits. Many of the selections have an urban blues outlook, although "Lucy Pearl," "Strut Your Stuff" and "I've Got the Blues All Over Me" are pure Louisiana-style swamp blues. Close your eyes while listening to these tunes, and it's easy to pretend you're in the steamy Louisiana bayous. Although not quite essential, Retrospectives paints an enjoyable picture of McCain as he sounded when he was in his late 50s and early 60s. ~Alex Henderson

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.