Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Helen Merrill & Dick Katz - A Shade of Difference (1998) 320 Kbps

23-11-2015, 18:50
Jazz | Vocal Jazz

Title: A Shade of Difference
Year Of Release: 1968 (1998)
Label: Gitanes Jazz Productions
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Quality: MP3 320 Kbps
Total Time: 00:40:40
Total Size: 130 Mb


01. Lonely Woman (Coleman, Guryan) (03:34)
02. While We're Young (Wilder, Palitz, Engvick) (02:47)
03. Never Will I Marry (Loesser) (04:57)
04. I Should Care (Cahn, Stordahl, Weston) (04:11)
05. A Lady Must Live (Rodgers, Hart) (04:44)
06. I Want A Little Boy (Mencher, Moll) (03:15)
07. Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most (Wolf, Landesman) (06:37)
08. My Funny Valentine (Rodgers, Hart) (02:20)
09. Lover Come Back to Me (Romberg, Hammerstein) (04:57)
10. Where Do You Go? (Wilder, Sundgaard) (02:21)

Originally put out by the Milestone label and later reissued by Landmark, this is a superior and consistently surprising effort by singer Helen Merrill. With arrangements provided by pianist Dick Katz and adventurous yet sympathetic playing by Thad Jones on flugelhorn and cornet, flutist Hubert Laws, altoist Gary Bartz (who is only on Ornette Coleman's "Lonely Woman"), Katz, guitarist Jim Hall, either Ron Carter or Richard Davis, on bass and drummer Elvin Jones, this is a particularly strong jazz vocal date. Merrill's voice was at its prime during the era, and her ability to tackle a wide repertoire and to bring new life to standards (including taking "My Funny Valentine" as a fairly free duet with Ron Carter) makes this a highly recommended effort.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.