Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


E.T. Mensah & The Tempos – King of Highlife: Anthology (2015)

19-11-2015, 19:12
Music | World

Title: King of Highlife: Anthology
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: RetroAfric
Genre: World
Quality: 320 Kbps
Total Time: 192:40 min
Total Size: 442 MB



01. Kwame Nkrumah
02. Muntum
03. Ngele Waewae
04. Auntie B
05. Makoma
06. Yei Ngbewoh
07. Hweyie
08. Menye Wo Bowu
09. Akuafo Cocoa
10. Natsui
11. The Tree and The Monkey
12. Onua
13. Owu Aye Me Adze
14. Mr Mouse
15. Nimpa Nawie
16. Akole Manuma Dibi
17. Club Girl


01. Nothing But Man’s Slave
02. Akpanga (Vulture)
03. Sanbra
04. Onua Pa
05. Shemi ni Oha
06. Korle Bu
07. Small Boy
08. Afi Fro Fro
09. Bus Conductor
10. Nkebo Baaya
11. Donkey Calypso
12. Tea Samba
13. Adainqua
14. All For You
15. St Peter’s Calypso
16. Essie Nana
17. John B Calypso


02. Odofo
03. Inflation Calypso
04. Nkatie
05. Assembon Tie M’ansem 6. Wiadzi
07. Agriculture
08. Fom Fom
09. Sunday Mirror
10. Don’t Mind Your Wife
11. Ahongyee
12. Mucho Mambo
13. Novimye
14. Loffoh Bibio
15. Bashia
16. Because of Money
17. School Girl


01. Day By Day
02. Calabar O
03. Comfort
04. Renkyebo
05. 205
06. Onipa
07. Gbaa Anokwale
08. Abele
09. Odo Angyina
10. Damfo Wo Eni Ewu
11. Kaa No Wa
12. Senorita
13. Daavi Loloto
14. 1914
15. Medzi Medzi
16. Ghana-Guinea-Mali
17. Mee Bei Obada 18. Ghana Freedom

The most comprehensive collection of E.T. Mensah recordings ever undertaken. Emmanuel Tetteh Mensah was a multi-instrumentalist and band leader whose dance band Highlife re-Africanised American swing music, blending it with Caribbean melodies, Latin rhythms and indigenous elements from the musically rich culture of Ghana (then known as The Gold Coast)

Although he had started out on a musical career in the 1930s, E.T. recorded his first 78rpm discs in 1952 and as he later claimed: “When my records came out in 1952 they vibrated into the ears of the listening public in Nigeria and other parts of Africa. It was from this period on that music fans throughout West Africa began to acclaim me as the King of Highlife.” That reputation carried right across the continent, being enjoyed by, and influencing, musicians as far apart as Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Senegambia, Congo and Kenya

E.T, who sadly died in 1996, was the artist who inspired RetroAfric's mission to remaster and re-issue essential recordings by Africa's pioneers of popular music. The first collection, All For You (RETRO1), was released as a vinyl LP in 1986 and later an extended version came out on CD

Highlife has never died, and this selection of timeless tracks from the mid-1950s to 1960s shows why it lives on, consistently inspiring new generations of musicians and listeners

With the cooperation of the Mensah family and estate, RetroAfric are pleased to re-issue this set of 69 songs from the great man’s repertoire that are being released in a four-CD box set (RETRO24). These classic tracks, most of which have not been available for more than 50 years, have been digitally transferred at the British Library National Sound Archive and are now being released to synchronize with Ghana Independence Day on March 6

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted

LD   User offline   24 December 2015 04:46

Phenomenal - Fantastic. Un mil gracias.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.