Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Florilegium / Elin Manahan Thomas - Vivaldi: Sacred Works for Soprano and Concertos (2012) {SACD/HD Tracks}

19-11-2015, 15:28
Music | Classical Music | FLAC / APE | HD & Vinyl

Title: Vivaldi: Sacred Works for Soprano and Concertos
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Channel Classics
Genre: Classical, Concerto
Quality: SACD-R ISO/FLAC 2.0+5.0 24/88.2
Total Time: 58:48 min
Total Size: 3,28 Gb/2,02 Gb/2,6 Gb

AllMusic Review by Stephen Eddins

This very attractive release from Channel Classics features the terrific British period instrument ensemble Florilegium in performances of three Vivaldi concertos and two sacred vocal works. The group plays without a conductor and the players' shapely unanimity of phrasing and nuanced expressiveness give the performances the character of chamber music. It sidesteps the metric squareness that can plague performances of Vivaldi and let the music breathe and surge organically. The strings have the slight tartness of Baroque instruments and the overall sound of the orchestra has an appealing burnished sheen. This is relatively obscure repertoire and includes a flute concerto that was only discovered in 2010 and is recorded here for the first time, played beautifully by Ashley Solomon, the artistic director of Florilegium.

Soprano Elin Manahan Thomas is highly effective in the psalm setting Laudate Pueri and the motet Nulla in mundo. She sings with absolutely unmannered spontaneity and naturalness. Manahan Thomas' voice has an astonishing clarion purity that's nowhere more evident than in "A solis ortu" from Laudate Pueri, in which her sound is piercingly clean and intense. The only blemish in her performance is in the final movement of the motet where in the outrageously demanding melismas her intonation goes very noticeably astray. This may be sacred music, but Vivaldi's vocal lines are anything but austere; they have a ravishing, sinuous lyricism that's as sensual as anything in his operas. The sound of the hybrid SACD is immaculate and natural. Anyone who knows Vivaldi only as the composer of The Four Seasons should take advantage of this disc's offerings of the varied (and vastly more interesting) music he was capable of producing.

Florilegium / Elin Manahan Thomas - Vivaldi: Sacred Works for Soprano and Concertos (2012) {SACD/HD Tracks}
01 - Concerto Madrigalesco / Adagio
02 - Concerto Madrigalesco / Allegro
03 - Concerto Madrigalesco / Adagio
04 - Concerto Madrigalesco / Alegro molto moderato
05 - Laudate Pueri - Laudate
06 - Laudate Pueri - Sit nomen Domini
07 - Laudate Pueri - A solis ortu
08 - Laudate Pueri - Excelsus super omnes
09 - Laudate Pueri - Suscitans
10 - Laudate Pueri - Ut collocet eum
11 - Laudate Pueri - Gloria Patri /1
12 - Laudate Pueri - Gloria Patri
13 - Laudate Pueri - Amen
14 - Gran Mogul / Allegro non molto
15 - Gran Mogul / Larghetto
16 - Gran Mogul / Allegro
17 - Motet Nulla in mundo / Aria
18 - Motet Nulla in mundo / Recitativo
19 - Motet Nulla in mundo / Aria
20 - Motet Nulla in mundo / Alleluia
21 - Concerto in Bb / Allegro
22 - Concerto in Bb / Andante
23 - Concerto in Bb / Allegro molto

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted

gibheid   User offline   19 November 2015 15:57

Thanks valechek82.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

vcoheda   User offline   19 November 2015 18:49

any chance for nitroflare links. thanks.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.