Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


David Douglass, Paul O'Dette, Andrew Lawrence-King - English Country Dances (1998)

31-10-2015, 08:30
Classical Music | FLAC / APE

David Douglass, Paul O'Dette, Andrew Lawrence-King - English Country Dances (1998)

Artist: David Douglass, Paul O'Dette, Andrew Lawrence-King
Title Of Album: English Country Dances
Year Of Release: 1998
Label: Harmonia Mundi
Genre: Classical
Quality: Lossless
Bitrate: FLAC (tracks)
Total Time: 01:17:42
Total Size: 425 Mb


01. Tom Scarlett
02. Old Simon the King
03. Another Division on a Ground by Mr. John Banister
04. Moll Peatly, or The Old Marinett
05. The Bear's Dance
06. Hunsdon House
07. Sir Martin Marah's Jigg
08. Fy Nay, Prithee John!
09. Paul's Steeple, or the Duke of Norfolk
10. The Glory of the West
11. The Mock Glory of the West
12. The Glory of the Sun
13. Faronell's Division on a Ground
14. Prelude
15. Long Cold Nights
16. Johney Cock Thy Beaver
17. Greene-Sleeves
18. Stingo, or the Oyle of Barly
19. Cockleshells
20. Another Division on a Ground by Mr. P.B.
21. The Queen's Jigg

David Douglass (violin),
Paul O'Dette (theorbo - a kind of large lute 17 in.)
Lawrence-King (harp).

These selections of English Country Dances from the publications of the English music publisher John Playford are recorded and played so well as to relegate any criticism to spoiled grapes. Perhaps a musicologist might carp on some fine points, but then again probably not - musicologists actually enjoy a good tune, too. There is a nice couple pages of notes by Jack Ashworth on the historical background of the music, and a further short page by David Douglass on how he envisioned the 'nature' of several of the pieces. There is also a French translation following the English notes. Seven instruments are mixed higgledy-piggledy as the performers deem best - a copy of a 1652 Amati Violin, and copies of a Theorbo, a Cittern, a 16-string harp, an Italian Double Harp, an Irish Harp, and a Guitar. For the curious Douglass plays the violin only, but offers playing consanguineous with his name.
Among the choices cut 15 - "Long Cold Nights" - seems almost New Age in its evocation of the heavens: one might be in Big Sur looking up at the stars. The many other pieces come in divers moods and tempi, with great care given to which instruments are employed. It's difficult to imagine anyone disliking such engaging tunes, such joy in their making. The recording is of course digital so it helps to have a system capable of taming the inevitable string stridencies, but that said - if you like music from this period, or are curious, this CD offers a wonderful selection.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted

mondzeichen   User offline   13 November 2015 17:07

Thank You, @tirexiss! :-)

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.