Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Bevis Frond - High in a Flat: Highlights 1987-1990 (2014)

30-10-2015, 20:20
Rock | FLAC / APE

The Bevis Frond - High in a Flat: Highlights 1987-1990 (2014)

Artist: The Bevis Frond
Album: High in a Flat: Highlights 1987-1990
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Cherry Red Records
Genre: Psychedelic Rock
Quality: 320 kbps | Lossless
Format: MP3 | FLAC
Total Time: 01:12:15
Total Size: 165 mb | 451 mb


01. The Bevis Frond - Splendid Isolation
02. The Bevis Frond - She's in Love with Time
03. The Bevis Frond - Maybe
04. The Bevis Frond - Reflections in a Tall Mirror
05. The Bevis Frond - I've Got Eyes in the Back of My Head
06. The Bevis Frond - Once More
07. The Bevis Frond - In Another Year
08. The Bevis Frond - I Can't Get Into Your Scene
09. The Bevis Frond - Lights Are Changing
10. The Bevis Frond - Corinthian
11. The Bevis Frond - This Corner of England
12. The Bevis Frond - Olde Worlde
13. The Bevis Frond - Ear Song
14. The Bevis Frond - He'd Be a Diamond
15. The Bevis Frond - Waving
16. The Bevis Frond - High in a Flat

The story of the Bevis Frond commenced with a motorcycle accident that allowed guitarist/songwriter Nick Saloman the time and money to buy some recording gear and start cranking out albums of wonderfully weird and tuneful psychedelic music. Beginning in 1986, right up until the current day, seeing the name Bevis Frond on the sleeve means you're about to hear something guitar-heavy, hooky, and eccentric. In 2014 the Cherry Red label launched a new series of Frond reissues with a 16-track collection of songs from BF Records released between 1987 and 1990 on the Miasma, Inner Marshland, Bevis Through the Looking Glass, Triptych, Any Gas Faster, and New River Head albums. During this time Saloman alternated between long, twisting guitar freakouts and relatively concise, jangling psych pop; this set gathers up many of his best examples of the latter with only a couple of longer tracks thrown in. Among the highlights are the Farfisa-led epic "She's in Love with Time," the absolutely evil-sounding acid rocker "I've Got Eyes in the Back of My Head," the very pretty folk-rocker "He'd Be a Diamond," and maybe Salomon's greatest hit, "Lights Are Changing." It sounds like the late-'60s hit the Byrds never had and sports a truly heartbreaking bridge, and the guitar solo that ends the song is absolute perfection. Add on a couple of long-form jams that show off the happily indulgent side of the band, a few acoustic ballads that delve into Nick's British folk influences, and the brilliant title track that was originally found on a rare Bucketfull of Brains flexi disc, and it makes for an excellent intro to the early work of the Bevis Frond. One listen just might have you setting aside money to buy all the reissues once Cherry Red starts rolling them out.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.