Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - 12"/80s Alternative [3 CD Box Set] (2011) Lossless

26-10-2015, 10:07
Music | Pop | Rock | Alternative | Electronic | FLAC / APE

VA - 12"/80s Alternative [3 CD Box Set] (2011) Lossless

Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: 12"/80s Alternative
Year Of Release: 2011
Label (Catalog#): Universal UMC [5333891]
Genre: Pop Rock, Synth-pop, New Wave, Alternative
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 3:52:35
Full Size: 1.57 gb

This three-CD set celebrates the alternative side of popular music in the 1980s, covering a trio of broad genres: new wave, goth and indie. The usual suspects are rounded up, and the songs selected are - as the title so accurately conveys - 12" mixes. So the listener gets over seven minutes of Simple Minds' Up on the Catwalk, almost a full 10 minutes of Propaganda's P: Machinery, and lengthy versions of Frankie's Welcome to the Pleasuredome and Talk Talk's Living in Another World.

Iconic offerings rub shoulders with significantly rarer numbers. Kicking off everything is the original 1983 cut of New Order's Blue Monday, still the biggest-selling 12" of all time. Its crystalline beats are as perfectly sharp today as they were almost 30 years ago. Closing the same CD - disc one, with synths dominating proceedings - is the extended remix of Japan's Nightporter, a hardly-heard version of the Catford-born band's 1982 hit. Between these points are fantastic tracks from Soft Cell (Memorabilia), The Lotus Eaters (1983's top 20 single The First Picture of You), and Scritti Politti (another top 20 success, 1984's Absolute).

The goth disc begins with Bauhaus' Bela Lugosi's Dead - the influential Northamptonshire gloom-rockers' debut single of 1979 is showing its age a bit, but remains a nostalgic treasure. Post-punk combo Killing Joke follow with Love Like Blood, which - some 27 years after its original release - is probably still their best-known number. The Sisters of Mercy and Siouxsie and the Banshees are expectedly included, with Lucretia My Reflection and Cities in Dust respectively (the latter being its makers' debut single release in the US), and the 11-track CD two closes with The Cure's Hot Hot Hot!!! - something of a flop for such a successful band, having peaked at 45 in the UK, but a highlight of the band's excellent 1987 LP Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me (which reached number six).

Disc three collects tracks by Big Country, Julian Cope, Visage, Yello, Echo & The Bunnymen and Prefab Sprout; each number is a classic of a kind, albeit not always representative of the band's commercial peak. Prefab Sprout's Faron Young, for example, missed the UK top 40 by some distance, even though it does open their fine album of 1985, Steve McQueen. To these ears it's the least essential of this release's discs, but personal taste will obviously determine which one enjoys the most spins. And there's certainly enough variety and quality across these 35 songs to appeal to the widest possible audience.


Disc 1
01 New Order - Blue Monday (1983 12'' Version) 7:29
02 Frankie Goes To Hollywood - Welcome To The Pleasuredome (An Alternative To Reality 9:39
03 Soft Cell - Memorabilia (Extended) 7:45
04 Tears For Fears - Suffer The Children (Remix) 4:20
05 B-Movie - Nowhere Girl (12'' Version) 6:30
06 The Lover Speaks - Every Lover's Sign (New Extended Mix) 5:53
07 Furniture - Brilliant Mind (Extended Mix) 7:00
08 Scritti Politti - Absolute (Version) 6:12
09 Talk Talk - Living In Another World (Extended Remix) 8:57
10 The Lotus Eaters - The First Picture Of You (12'' Version) 5:29
11 Japan - Nightporter (Extended Remix) 6:46

Disc 2
01 Bauhaus - Bela Lugosi's Dead (Original 12'' Mix) 9:32
02 Killing Joke - Love Like Blood (Version) 6:41
03 The Damned - Eloise (Extravagant Mix) 9:31
04 The Mission - Wasteland (Anniversary Mix) 7:39
05 Sisters Of Mercy - Lucretia My Reflection (Extended Remix) 9:48
06 Siouxsie & The Banshees - Cities In Dust (Extended Eruption Mix) 6:48
07 All About Eve - Every Angel (Extended) 5:50
08 The Jesus & Mary Chain - April Skies (12'' Version) 3:59
09 Spear Of Destiny - Liberator (Extended Mix) 5:17
10 The Fall - Telephone Thing (Extended Mix) 4:19
11 The Cure - Hot Hot Hot (Extended Remix) 7:03

Disc 3
01 Simple Minds - Up On The Catwalk (Extended Version) 7:36
02 Echo And The Bunnymen - Bring On The Dancing Horses 5:48
03 Big Country - In A Big Country (Pure Mix) 6:19
04 Prefab Sprout - Faron Young (Truckin' Mix) 4:41
05 Lloyd Cole & The Commotions - Cut Me Down (Extended Remix) 6:06
06 Julian Cope - The Greatness & Perfection Of Love (Remixed Version) 3:23
07 The Psychedelic Furs - Heartbeat (New York Remix) 8:16
08 Visage - Frequency 7 (Dance Mix) 5:04
09 Yello - Bostich (Full Length Mix) 4:33
10 Jah Wobble, Jake Liebezeit, Holger Czukay - How Much Are They (12'' Version) 4:45
11 Anne Clark - Our Darkness (Remix) 6:26
12 Cabaret Voltaire - Yashar (John Robie Mix 1) 7:29
13 Propaganda - P-Machinery (Polish) 9:23

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted

AYAZCAN   User offline   15 December 2015 12:47

linkler gitmiş
Tekrar aktif eder misiniz

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.