Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Paragons - The Paragons And The Paragons Dubwise (2015)

23-10-2015, 12:52
Reggae | FLAC / APE

The Paragons - The Paragons And The Paragons Dubwise (2015)

Artist: The Paragons
Album: The Paragons And The Paragons Dubwise
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Island
Genre: Reggae, Dub
Quality: 320 kbps | Lossless
Format: MP3 | FLAC
Total Time: 01:02:59
Total Size: 172 mb | 467 mb


The Paragons

01 Happy Go Lucky Girl 3:42
02 I'll Be Back 3:54
03 Man Next Door 4:00
04 Only A Smile 3:41
05 My Best Girl 3:40
06 The Tide Is High 3:47
07 Riding On A High And Windy Day 3:29
08 Wear You To The Ball 3:03
09 The Same Song 3:33
10 On The Beach 3:18

The Paragons Dubwise

11 Riding In Rhythm 3:57
12 I'll Be Versioned 4:03
13 My Best Rhythm 4:05
14 The Same Version 4:18
15 Only A Dub 3:50
16 The Version Is High 4:43
17 Wear Out The Dub 3:15
18 Happy Go Lucky Dub 3:55
19 On The Version 3:36
20 Man Next Dub 3:20

“Featuring”, as the label blurb has it, “the original 1981 Island album, plus the previously unissued accompanying Dub set…” That accurate description sums up this new release from the Paragons, the vocal reggae outfit that gave us the late John Holt and Bob Andy. The year of issue means that these are re-recordings of some of the Paragons’ best known songs, featuring the trio of John Holt, Garth ‘Tyrone’ Evans and Howard Barrett. This collection includes ‘The Tide is High’ (after the versions by U Roy and by Gregory Isaacs, and after Blondie had already fashioned it into a pop/rock hit single), ‘Man Next Door’, ‘Riding on a High and Windy Day’ and (the much-dubbed) ‘Wear You to the Ball’. Engineered by Errol Brown, and recorded at Tuff Gong studio in Kingston, Jamaica, it’s not surprising that the production sound is clear and uncluttered in comparison to the Paragons’ early versions of these songs for Duke Reid’s Treasure Isle records in the 60s. The musicians involved here include Mikey Chung, Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare, all adding up to an excellent tour of the Paragons’ best tracks, with the vocals mixed up front. As if that were not enough this release also features a dub set of the entire album and that is really where the sound takes off. Sequenced differently from the vocal tracks, the dub set kicks off with ‘Riding in Rhythm’ (an excellent dub take on the vocal track) and then essentially goes from strength to strength, featuring ‘The Version is High’, ‘Wear Out the Dub’ and a dub entitled ‘My Best Rhythm’ (a perfect dub of ‘My Best Girl’). It’s old-time reggae and still sounds great.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted

litao   User Online   30 July 2016 19:02

I have this on LP.
Thank you very much.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.