Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Omar Kent Dykes - Big Town Playboy (2009) Lossless

22-10-2015, 09:19
Music | Blues | FLAC / APE

Omar Kent Dykes - Big Town Playboy (2009) Lossless

Artist: Omar Kent Dykes
Title Of Album: Big Town Playboy
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: Ruf Records
Genre: Blues, Modern Electric Blues
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
Bitrate: Lossless
Total Time: 0:41:17
Total Size: 292 Mb


01. Big Town Playboy 04:12
02. Upside Your Head 04:16
03. Can't Judge Nobody 03:48
04. Think 03:49
05. Mary, Mary 02:44
06. No More Doggin' 03:40
07. Hello Mary Lee 02:28
08. Close Together 02:43
09. Dream Girl 04:02
10. Since I Met You Baby 03:20
11. Man Down There 02:57
12. King Bee 03:13

Lou Ann Barton - Vocals
Gary Clark, Jr. - Guitar, Harmonica
James Cotton - Harmonica
Ronnie James - Bass Guitar
Lazy Lester - Harmonica
Derek O'Brien - Guitar
Wes Starr - Drums
Omar Kent Dykes - Vocals
Jimmie Vaughan - Guitar, Vocals

After years languishing in the blues-rock trenches, Omar Kent Dykes left his Howlers band behind in 2007, hooked up with friend and fellow Austin-ite Jimmie Vaughan, brought in some like-minded guests such as singer Lou Ann Barton, and cruised into one of the most popular blues albums of that year with a tribute to a major influence for both musicians; On the Jimmy Reed Highway. Little has changed on this follow-up from two years later. While only two tunes are penned by Reed, and Vaughan's billing has shrunk to a below the title "featuring" credit, this can't help but be seen as a logical extension of its popular predecessor. Dykes digs into the lazy, Texas Reed shuffle from the opening title track (written by Reed's longtime guitarist Eddie Taylor), through the closing buzz of Slim Harpo's salacious "King Bee," 40 minutes later. But this is no case of sloppy seconds. Rather Dykes and Vaughan seem energized by the acclaim of their previous collaboration and loosen up with some returning friends (Barton, guitarist Derek O'Brien, and drummer Wes Starr, the latter who deserves more credit than he gets for capturing the loose yet crisp shuffle associated with Reed's approach) on a similarly styled session that is every bit the equal of the last. Highlights include a tough, sassy duet with Barton on Jimmy McCracklin's "Think," and a swampy cover of John Lee Hooker's "No More Doggin'." Ronnie James' upright bass also adds a rootsy element captured by Vaughan's predominantly low-key solos. James Cotton swings by on harp for five selections including a peppy take on Lightnin' Slim's "Hello Mary Lee." The set sounds perhaps deceptively spontaneous as the players congeal around their mutual love for this laconic yet invigorating Texas blues. There is no sense trying to update this traditional sound, yet Dykes and co. succeed in blowing new life into it, and kudos if they can boost their careers in the process.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.