Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Gerry Mulligan - The Complete Verve Gerry Mulligan Concert Band Sessions [4CD Set] (2003)

19-10-2015, 16:00
Music | Jazz | Oldies | FLAC / APE

Gerry Mulligan - The Complete Verve Gerry Mulligan Concert Band Sessions [4CD Set] (2003)

Artist: Gerry Mulligan
Title Of Album: The Complete Verve Gerry Mulligan Concert Band Sessions [4CD Set]
Year Of Release: 2003 (Rec. 1960-62)
Label: Mosaic Records / Verve
Country: USA
Genre: Jazz / Cool / West Coast Jazz / Progressive Jazz
Quality: Mp3 | FLAC (tracks+.cue,log)
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps | Lossless
Time: 4CD Set (03:58:34)
Full Size: 611 MB | 1,56 GB (Scans)

A killer collection of this unique musical moment from Gerry Mulligan – with material that appeared on the albums Concert Jazz Band, Concert Jazz Band At The Village Vanguard, A Concert In Jazz, Concert Jazz Band On Tour Guest Soloist Zoot Sims, and Gerry Mulligan 63 – plus unissued tracks, too! This four disc-set contains all of the existing Concert Band Sessions from May 1960 to December 1962, and makes available for the first time five previously unreleased performances. Some seven others, whose original tapes are either missing or lost, are notated here for the sake of discography. This was, arguably -- after and aside from Mulligan's piano-less quartet with Chet Baker -- the most visionary music he ever made. It eclipses his nonet recordings of the 1950s because of the sophisticated charts written by trombonist Bob Brookmeyer, and the writing Mulligan was doing formed the strength of this band -- though this is not immediately apparent at the outset of Disc One. The set commences with a version of the band that included six brass, four reeds, Mulligan on baritone (and piano occasionally), bass, and drums.


Disc 1
01. Sweet and Slow
02. Bweebida Bobbida
03. Manoir de mes rêves (Django's Castle)
04. You Took Advantage of Me
05. Out of This World
06. My Funny Valentine
07. Broadway
08. I'm Gonna Go Fishin'
09. I Know, Don't Know How
10. Barbara's Theme
11. Sweet and Slow (first version)
12. Out of This World (first version)

Disc 2
01. Go Home
02. Barbara's Theme
03. Theme From I Want to Live
04. The Red Door
05. Come Rain or Come Shine
06. Apple Core
07. Go Home
08. As Catch Can
09. Young Blood
10. Blueport

Disc 3
01. Blueport
02. Body and Soul
03. Black Nightgown
04. Come Rain or Come Shine
05. Lady Chatterley's Mother
06. Let My People Be
07. All About Rosie
08. Weep
09. I Know, Don't Know How
10. Chuggin'
11. Summer's Over
12. Israel

Disc 4
01. Little Rock Getaway
02. Ballad
03. Big City Life
04. Big City Blues
05. My Kinda Love
06. Pretty Little Gypsy
07. Bridgehampton South
08. Bridgehampton Strut
09. Chant
10. Ballad (alternate take)
11. Bridgehampton South (alternate take)
12. Bridgehampton Strut (alternate take)

Alto Saxophone – Bob Donovan
Baritone Saxophone – Gerry Mulligan
Baritone Saxophone, Bass Clarinet – Gene Allen
Bass – Bill Crow, Bill Takas, Buddy Clark
Clarinet – Gerry Mulligan
Clarinet, Alto Saxophone – Dick Meldonian
Clarinet, Alto Saxophone, Alto Flute – Eddie Caine
Clarinet, Alto Saxophone, Clarinet – Gene Quill
Drums – Dave Bailey, Gus Johnson, Mel Lewis
Flugelhorn – Clark Terry
Piano – Bob Brookmeyer, Gerry Mulligan
Tenor Saxophone – Jim Reider, Zoot Sims
Trombone – Alan Raph, Bob Brookmeyer, Wayne Andre, Willie Dennis
Trumpet – Clark Terry, Conte Candoli, Danny Stiles, Doc Severinsen, Don Ferrara, Nick Travis, Phil Sunkel

Gerry Mulligan - The Complete Verve Gerry Mulligan Concert Band Sessions [4CD Set] (2003)

Gerry Mulligan - The Complete Verve Gerry Mulligan Concert Band Sessions [4CD Set] (2003)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.