Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Louisiana Red - When My Mama Was Living (2012)

17-10-2015, 07:35
Music | Blues | Rock

Louisiana Red - When My Mama Was Living (2012)

Artist: Louisiana Red
Title Of Album: When My Mama Was Living
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Labor Records
Genre: Blues, Louisiana Blues
Format: Mp3
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 01:05:47
Total Size: 160 Mb


1. Walk All Over Georgia
2. King Bee
3. When My Mama Was Living
4. Caught Your Man And Gone
5. Bad Case Of The Blues
6. Little Suzie Jane
7. Got A Girl With A Dog Won't Bark
8. Cold White Sheet
9. Going Down To Georgia
10. You Got To Move
11. Going Home
12. I'll Be Glad When You Are Dead You Rascal You
13. Cold Feeling
14. John Henry
15. Stole From Me
16. Joanne

Were he alive today, Louisiana Red wouldn't stand a chance on one of the wretched singing competitions that pollute the television landscape. That's both an indictment of contemporary music culture and a testament to the gutbucket power and soulful integrity of the late, great bluesman. Red lived a fascinating and at times harrowing life that informs every bar of every song he wrote and performed. He lost his parents when he was a child, was raised in a succession of orphanages, learned to play guitar from a street musician, and lived the hardscrabble life of a traveling musician while in his teens. He made his first recording in 1949, hung out with legends like John Lee Hooker and Muddy Waters, and eventually carved out a prolific career that resulted in more than 50 albums. In honor of Red's passing, Labor Records has released this CD of 16 previously unreleased tracks that capture him at his peak. Recorded in the mid-1970s, half are originals written by Red and Kent Cooper; half are standards that Red stamps with his inimitable style: stark, haunted and filled with a lifetime's pain and disappointment. Yet one can also hear a survivor's strength and spirit in tunes like "Walk All Over Georgia" and "King Bee" that make listening to Red a transformative, uplifting experience. Stripped down to the essentials -- vocals, guitar, harmonica -- this is blues in the raw, as pungent and powerful as a shot of redeye. ~Dean R. Brierly

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.