Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Shellshag - Why'd I Have To Get So High? (2015)

12-10-2015, 09:57
Music | Rock | Punk | Indie | FLAC / APE

Shellshag - Why'd I Have To Get So High? (2015)

Artist: Shellshag
Title Of Album: Why'd I Have To Get So High?
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Don Giovanni
Genre: Indie, Post-Punk, Psychedelic Rock
Quality: FLAC
Total Time: 34:26 min
Total Size: 189 MB
WebSite: Album Preview


01 Unacceptable (2:16)
02 Capitvator (0:56)
03 Blowin It (2:31)
04 5 1 and Change (3:14)
05 Rattletrap (1:17)
06 '90s Problem (4:12)
07 Tiger Stripes (1:25)
08 RIP (1:40)
09 Sun Moon and Stars (1:33)
10 Pretty Eyes (1:52)
11 Hold You in My Arms (2:25)
12 Baby Come Back (2:18)
13 50/50 (2:13)
14 Protect The Flower (2:09)
15 Baby's Arms (2:18)
16 Down the River (2:07)

"Any musician you talk to that is familiar with Shellshag regularly uses one word to describe these DIY stalwarts: Inspiring. Over the years, the duo has grown into Brooklyn's answer to Dead Moon, transcending the simple label of "a band" and becoming an institution in their own right. They are true out-and-out lifers, in it for the long haul, and a reminder that perseverance is key in any artistic endeavor. While many of their fans were too young to have even heard about "punk" in the mid-'90s, Jen Shagawat was already running the infamous Starcleaner Warehouse in San Francisco, an integral part of the city's independent music scene, and playing in a number of Bay Area bands. In the meantime, John "Shellhead" Driver was touring throughout the country with his band 50 Million and penning songs for his stripped down acoustic project, some of which would later be re-worked as Shellshag staples and crowd favorites. After meeting in the Mission in the late '90s, romance ensued, as did their music together, and the two have never parted. With each LP and every tour that has taken them across the US and back again, Shellshag have proven that they cannot only survive in a changing music industry, ethics intact, but can thrive as underground musicians without compromise is Shellshag's fifth LP, and the culmination of 20 plus years of resilient effort and artistic growth. Recorded by Jerri Queen (Vacation) and John Petty (Vacation, Sleeves) at The Lodge (Kentucky), the sixteen tracks represent the band at the peak of their career, reinforcing their stripped down sound with additional instrumentation and the occasional lush arrangement, and guest appearances from members of Vacation, Tweens, Pretty Pretty, Swim Team, and Black Planet, and from long-time collaborator Marissa Paternoster of Screaming Females."

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.