Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Masterpieces Of Modern Soul Vol 4 (2015)

29-09-2015, 08:48
Music | Soul | R&B | FLAC / APE

VA - Masterpieces Of Modern Soul Vol 4 (2015)

Artist: VA
Title Of Album: Masterpieces Of Modern Soul Vol 4
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Kent
Genre: R&B, Soul
Quality: 320 / FLAC
Total Time: 79:33 min
Total Size: 182 / 449 MB
WebSite: Album Preview


01. Garland Green / Just Loving You (Rap Intro)
02. Darrow Fletcher / No Limit
03. Greg Perry / It Takes Heart
04. The Natural Resources / If There Were No You
05. Luv Co / Don't Send Nobody Else
06. Street People / Baby, You Got It All
07. Jesse Johnson & Chocolate Fudge / There Will Never Be Another You
08. Billy Cee & The Freedom Express / Don't Matter To Me
09. Herman Davis / Gotta Be Loved
10. Elaine Armstrong / Tears Begin To Fall
11. Toussaint McCall / I'll Laugh Till I Cry
12. Obrey Wilson / Daddy Please Stay Home
13. The New Experience / Never Felt This Way Before
14. The Ovations feat Louis Williams / You're My Little Girl (Edited version)
15. The Pretenders / It's Everything About You (That I Love)
16. Gail Anderson / We Communicate
17. Viola Wills / I've Got News For You
18. The Dramatics / Don't Lose What You Got (Trying To Get Back What You Had)
19. Cesar / See Saw Affair
20. Elayne Starr / Night After Night
21. George Soule / Midnight Affair
22. Alvin Robinson / I've Never Been In Love
23. Fox Fire featuring Johnny Adams / You Amaze Me

Kent's latest volume of Modern Soul sides is a particularly splendid affair. The four-year gestation period is a reflection of the scarcity of these tracks and the gradual increase in the percentage of masters that were not issued at the time of recording to a staggering 70% tells us it's what's in the tape box that counts nowadays. Aural debuts abound; Elaine Armstrong cut one great single for King in 1968 but the company left the mid-tempo sadness of Tears Begin To Fall in the vaults. Jesse Johnson recorded in Los Angeles and cut a pretty upbeat love song, There Will Never Be Another You , for veteran producer Johnny Otis. The other Johnny Adams, who cut for Modern and Money, also performed with the group Fox Fire and an unissued LP featured a long beautiful ballad with a slow beat called You Amaze Me; sophisticated in the extreme. Dave Hamilton's Detroit projects ran from the 40s to the 80s and in the later years he came up with some modern soul winners, such as the previously unheard pleading male vocal of the New Experience's Never Felt This Way Before and Elayne Starr's Night After Night which has a hint of disco. Real released records feature in the form of Street People's Baby, You Got It All, a great mid-70s Spring dancer which is overlooked and hard to find. The Spring tapes also gave up an alternate lead vocal to Millie's Don't Send Nobody Else, here credited to Luv Co. Quirks abound - Kent feature the Garland Green rap version which only came out on the 1990 Kent LP by accident! Compilation and notes by Ady Croasdell.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.