Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Marlena - My Heart to Yours (2015) Lossless

12-09-2015, 08:23
Music | Jazz | Vocal Jazz | Pop | FLAC / APE

Marlena - My Heart to Yours (2015) Lossless

Artist: Marlena
Title Of Album: My Heart to Yours
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Tom Phillips
Genre: Jazz, Vocal Jazz, Pop Jazz
Format: Flac
Quality: Lossless
Total Time: 57:36 Min
Total Size: 406 Mb


01. I Just Want To Make Love To You
02. Smooth Operator
03. Good Morning Heartache
04. I've Got To See You Again
05. I Put A Spell On You
06. Why Don't You Do Right
07. Cry Me A River
08. Smile
09. Our Day Will Come
10. Stormy
11. Back To Black
12. Eyes Without A Face
13. The Look Of Love
14. Dream A Little Dream Of Me
15. The Best Is Yet To Come

Marlena's new project "My Heart to Yours" is a collection of standards that will take you from cocktails to dinner. Marlena’s heartfelt interpretation of Jazz, Blues, and Standards is uniquely her own. Her haunting romantic vocal styling will linger long after the music (and dinner) ends.
Starting out the album is an upbeat and well produced rendition of "I Just Want To Make Love To You." The horns and string arrangements carry the song and add tons of color and flavor to this old standard. Marlena's well seasoned voice fits perfectly over this happy go lucky tune. I personally love this song and thought Marlena did a great job with her interpretation. Oh, and I want to see her band! "Stormy" is dedicated to Marlena's father and can be heard below.
The Sade tune "Smooth Operator" is represented well on this project. Honestly I was a little apprehensive to listen to this one since Sade is one of my favorite was well done I am happy to say. Check it out and find out for yourself.
"I've got to see you again" is a peculiar version of the Norah Jones tune written by Jesse Harris. The music and instrumentation is neat and unique but (honest moment here) the vocals aren't working for me. In particular the doubles that are hard panned left and right don't match some of the time and make some of the delivery sound really off. Constructive criticism over , let's move on!
"I put a spell on you" has some fantastic groovy guitars and the song really gets rockin' later on with a well placed and well played guitar solo. It sounds like this band is made up of top notch professionals who really know how to play as all of the arrangements on this record are top notch. This tune has great dynamics and takes the listener from jazz, to a little jazz's fun!
Overall this album is a great listen! You can listen to it anytime you like but it would be paired nicely with a meaty fish and a summer white wine on the patio! Marlena has a great band a great voice! I would definitely pony up the dough to see them at a jazz or dinner club.
If you like pop made into jazz this album is for you! What do you think? Comment below and join the conversation on social media! Indie jazz music rules!! (JoeJoeKeys)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted

ogutierrez   User offline   17 September 2015 03:53

Thank you v. m.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.