Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Cult - Love [4CD Box Set, Omnibus Edition] (2009)

8-09-2016, 17:18
Rock | FLAC / APE

Title: Love [4CD Box Set]
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: Beggars Banquet
Genre: Rock, Hard Rock, Alternative Rock
Quality: FLAC (Tracks)
Total Size: 2,29 Gb

BBC Review

The ultimate version of one of the greatest British rock records of the 80s.

Despite the heady heights of success scaled by The Cult during the arena rock years from 1987 until their break-up in 1995, their second album Love is by far their best. Originally released in 1985, there simply isn’t a bad song on here, and evergreen rock anthems such as Rain and the iconic She Sells Sanctuary are probably their best known and best loved tracks.

Love could arguably be called a transitional album. The band’s first effort, 1984’s Dreamtime, was rooted in the emerging post-punk and goth-rock underground scene. Love represented a quantum leap forward, but their sound had yet to be distilled into the pure hard rock of 1987’s Electric. Ian Astbury’s soaring vocals remained much the same, but Love introduced some Led Zeppelin-sized ambition and sonic scope.

Big Neon Glitter and Hollow Man are typical of the album’s outright gothic moments, and the band’s core audience accepted The Cult’s new-found rockist tendencies with good grace – there was still plenty of reassuringly brooding atmosphere to keep them happy. Although the title track and the psychedelia-drenched Phoenix were a heavy hint at things to come, overall Love straddles the rock/goth divide with peerless skill.

Black Angel and the exquisite Brother Wolf, Sister Moon show the band to be equally adept at ballads. The sheer variety on display also highlights just how mature their writing was. After all, Astbury and Duffy had yet to hit 25 when Love was released. To the public at large, Love may be all about the big hit singles Rain and She Sells Sanctuary, but write off the rest at your peril.

Re-mastered from the original studio analogue tapes, this four-disc box set is a feast for fans. Aside from the original album, there’s a disc of remixes and non-album B sides, a disc of previously unreleased early demos and a disc recorded live in 1985 on the Love tour. Add a 48-page book with unseen contact sheets from the album photo session and a mass of other material assembled by Astbury and Duffy and you have the ultimate version of one of the greatest British rock records of the 80s.

The Cult - Love [4CD Box Set, Omnibus Edition] (2009)
CD 1: Love
1. Nirvana 5:27
2. The Big Neon Glitter 4:52
3. Love 5:31
4. Brother Wolf Sister Moon 6:47
5. Rain 3:57
6. Phoenix 5:06
7. Hollow Man 4:46
8. Revolution 5:27
9. She Sells Sanctuary 4:22
10. Black Angel 5:25

CD 2: Singles
1. She Sells Sanctuary (Long Version) 6:59
2. No. 13 4:40
3. The Snake 8:10
4. Here Comes The Rain 6:19
5. Little Face 4:54
6. Revolution (Full Length Remix) 5:30
7. Judith 5:29
8. Sunrise 5:11
9. All Souls Avenue 4:46
10. She Sells Sanctuary (Howling Mix) 8:26
11. Assault On Sanctuary 7:31

CD 3: Demos
1. Brother Wolf Sister Moon 7:54
2. Hollow Man 5:48
3. She Sells Sanctuary 5:21
4. All Souls Avenue 4:56
5. Little Face 5:45
6. No. 13 6:23
7. Big Neon Glitter 6:34
8. Waltz (Instrumental) 4:37
9. Nirvana (Instrumental) 6:04
10. Revolution (Instrumental) 6:50
11. She Sells Sanctuary (Olympic Rough Mix) 7:04

CD 4: Live 1985 (Live at the Hammersmith Odeon, October 31, 1985)
1. Love 5:55
2. Nirvana 5:05
3. Christians 4:33
4. Hollow Man 5:01
5. Big Neon Glitter 4:46
6. Brother Wolf Sister Moon 7:01
7. Rain 5:12
8. Dreamtime 3:10
9. She Sells Sanctuary 5:35
10. Go West 5:02
11. Spiritwalker 4:36
12. Horse Nation 3:17
13. Phoenix 5:20

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted

forrest   User offline   22 August 2015 15:48

tks a lot 7 3 6 3

many thanks

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.