Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


George Russell Complete 1956-1960 Smalltet & Orchestra Recordings (2014) Mp3 + Lossless

12-08-2015, 08:38
Jazz | FLAC / APE

George Russell Complete 1956-1960 Smalltet & Orchestra Recordings (2014) Mp3 + Lossless

Artist:George Russell
Title Of Album:Complete 1956-1960 Smalltet & Orchestra Recordings
Year Of Release:2014
Label:Fresh Sound Records
Genre:Jazz, Post-Bop
Quality:mp3 / Flac (image+.cue)
Bitrate:320 kbps / Lossless
Total Time:02:34:59
Total Size:364 / 881,63 Mb
WebSite: Album Preview

3 LPs on 2 CDs + BONUS TRACKS STEREO 24 BIT DIGITALLY REMASTERED Although George Russell (1923-2009) first emerged on the avant garde jazz scene in 1946, when he wrote for Gillespie s Afro Cuban jazz orchestra, as a composer and musical theorist he stamped his name on jazz history by mapping a new approach without departing from the main jazz route. This he did in his 1953 book, The Lydian Concept of Tonal Organisation, in which he outlined a series of tonal relationships already existing in music, and applied it to his writing.
What he specifically wanted to create in jazz was a composition or an arrangement that "will take the listener through a little adventure." The writing was harmonically adventurous without resorting to complete atonality. It rec onciled surprise with structure; true improvisation abounds amid the sense of organized looseness of more conventional jazz groups. Like Duke Ellington, he created a musical cli mate so pervasive that most of the outstanding players he selected on these recordings subordinated their own musical personalities to his material as they realized the possibilities it created. The overall effect was a continuity of thought few composers or players in jazz have been able to achieve. And though Russell s music is within the logical growth of jazz, his forms were totally new rather than reconstructions of older forms, because jazz is a new music and must have new forms.

George Russell Complete 1956-1960 Smalltet & Orchestra Recordings (2014) Mp3 + Lossless

CD 1

01. Ezz-thetic
02. Jack's Blues
03. Ye Hypocrite, Ye Beelzebub
04. Livingstone I Presume
05. Round Johnny Rondo
06. Night Sound
07. Concerto for Billy the Kid
08. Witch Hunt
09. Fellow Delegates
10. Ballad of Hix Blewitt
11. Knights of the Steamtable
12. The Sad Sergeant
13. Concerto for Billy the Kid [Alt. Take]
14. Ballad of Hix Blewitt [Alt. Take]
15. First movement
16. Second movement
17. Third movement
18. Part, 1
19. Part, 2
20. Part, 3

CD 2

01. Manhattan (Rodgers-Hart)
02. Big City Blues
03. Manhatta-Rico
04. East Side Medley: Autumn in New York (Vernon Duke) / How About You (Lane-Freed)
05. A Helluva Town
06. The Lydiot
07. Waltz from Outer Space
08. Dimensions

George Russell Complete 1956-1960 Smalltet & Orchestra Recordings (2014) Mp3 + Lossless

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.