Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Lena Horne - At the Waldorf Astoria/At the Sands (2002) 320 kbps

25-07-2015, 17:23
Music | Jazz | Vocal Jazz

Lena Horne -  At the Waldorf Astoria/At the Sands (2002) 320 kbps

Artist: Lena Horne
Title Of Album: At the Waldorf Astoria/At the Sands
Year Of Release: 2002
Label: Collectables
Genre: Jazz, Vocal Jazz
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Time: 01:19:17 min
Total Size: 182 mb
WWW: allmusic

Due the permanence of film, Lena Horne may be destined to be best known for her guest appearances in a series of MGM musicals, but her real strength was live performance, whether she was dancing on the stage of the Cotton Club in her teens or sweeping across the stage of a Las Vegas casino hotel in her forties. This discount-priced two-fer reissue captures two of her typical live appearances, one from New York's Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in 1957, the other from the Sands Hotel in Las Vegas in 1960. At both she is supported by her husband, conductor Lennie Hayton. She proves to be the epitome of sophisticated supper-club entertainment, turning in medleys of songs by Cole Porter, Duke Ellington, Jule Styne, Rodgers & Hammerstein, and E.Y. "Yip" Harburg. The selections range from pop standards to obscure gems, each of them given a letter-perfect reading in Horne's knowing voice. The singer is just as effective rendering a song like "The Man I Love," which has been recorded many times, as she is introducing her audience to Burt Bacharach's still-unknown "Out of My Continental Mind." Put together on one disc, the two albums (each of which was long for an LP in its day) come off like one almost-80-minute show that is full of delights and discoveries. These are well-balanced nightclub sets, but they are not recitals of Horne's hits; only "Honeysuckle Rose" was a song she sang in one of her movies. Thus, this collection is a good complement to a Horne best-of, with little overlapping material.

Lena Horne -  At the Waldorf Astoria/At the Sands (2002) 320 kbps
01. Today I Love Everybody (2:56)
02. Let Me Love You (3:06)
03. Come Runnin' (2:49)
04. Cole Porter Medley: How's Your Romance? / After You / Love Of My Life / It's All Right With Me (7:20)
05. Duke Ellington Medley: Mood Indigo / I'm Beginning To See The Light (4:30)
06. How You Say It (3:16)
07. Honeysuckle Rose (2:59)
08. Day In - Day Out (2:07)
09. New Fangled Tango (3:06)
10. I Love To Love (4:20)
11. From This Moment On (1:58)
12. Maybe (2:26)
13. The Man I Love (4:20)
14. Get Rid Of Monday (3:05)
15. Jule Styne Medley: Ride On A Rainbow / Never Never Land / I Said No / Some People (7:15)
16. You Don't Have To Know The Language (2:12)
17. Out Of My Continental Mind (2:27)
18. Rodgers And Hammerstein Medley: A Cock-Eyed Optimist / I Have Dreamed / Surrey With The Fringe On Top (7:04)
19. Harburg Medley: Thrill Me / What Is There To Say / The Begat (6:35)
20. Don't Commit The Crime (5:34)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.