Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Albert Washington - Blues & Soul Man (1999)

25-07-2015, 15:53
Music | Blues | Soul | R&B | FLAC / APE

Albert Washington - Blues & Soul Man (1999)

Artist: Albert Washington
Title Of Album: Blues & Soul Man
Year Of Release: 1999
Label (Catalog#): Ace Records [CDHCD 727]
Genre: Blues, Soul, Rhythm & Blues
Quality: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,,digital booklet)
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Time: 1:14:25
Full Size: 185 mb / 322 mb
WebSite: Album Preview

Albert Washington - Blues & Soul Man (1999)

Washington may have been a journeyman at what he did, but he was at the very top of the journeyman class, and what he did -- play a hybrid of blues and soul -- is not as overmined a genre as many blues styles are. That means that if you like blues-soul crossover, you will almost certainly like this compilation of late-'60s and early-'70s sides, which represent the peak of Washington as a recording artist. Most of these were done for Fraternity from 1967-1970, and show him comfortable in deep gospel-like Southern soul grooves ("Doggin' Me Around"), quasi-Sam Cooke pop-soul ("A Woman Is a Funny Thing"), and party-tempo blues-soul hybrids that sometimes show a B.B. King influence. The material is more soul than blues; the blues bite is usually supplied by the sharp guitar licks (sometimes played by the great Lonnie Mack), the soul embellished by Washington's cheery, uplifting vocals. The exact tracks featuring Mack are not precisely identified, but his burning, slightly distorted tone is certainly on "Turn on the Bright Lights." Three of the 25 tracks were previously unissued, and in addition to the Fraternity material there are a couple of subsequent singles on Jewel from 1971 and 1973.


1. Doggin' Me Around (2:16)
2. A Woman Is a Funny Thing (2:41)
3. Tellin' All Your Friends (2:47)
4. Rome, GA. (2:36)
5. You Got To Pay Your Dues (2:44)
6. Jealous Woman (3:06)
7. These Arms of Mine (2:22)
8. I'm the Man (2:43)
9. Woman Love (2:11)
10. Bring It On Up (2:28)
11. Turn On the Bright Lights (3:15)
12. Lonely Mountain (2:56)
13. Hold Me Baby (6:03)
14. I'm Gonna Pour Me a Drink (4:21)
15. He's Got the Whole World (In His Hands) (2:44)
16. Having a Good Time (2:19)
17. Crazy Legs, Pt. 1 (2:23)
18. Crazy Legs, Pt. 2 (2:17)
19. Mischievous Ways (2:51)
20. Hour of Power (2:07)

Uploaded | HitFile

cbr 320 kbps
Uploaded | HitFile

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted