Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Gil Evans - The Individualism of Gil Evans (2003)

16-07-2015, 06:42
Music | Jazz | FLAC / APE

Gil Evans - The Individualism of Gil Evans (2003)

Artist: Gil Evans
Title Of Album: The Individualism of Gil Evans
Year Of Release: 2003
Label(Catalog#): Verve [UCCU-5146]
Genre: Jazz, Cool, Post Bop
Format: Flac/Cue/Log/Artwork | MP3
Quality: Lossless | 320 kbps
Total Time: 68:36
Total Size: 411 MB(+3%) | 162 MB(+3%)


01. Time of the Barracudas (Evans) - 7:26 (bonus track)
02. The Barbara Song (Weill-Brecht) - 9:59
03. Las Vegas Tango (Evans) - 6:35
04. Flute Song (Evans) / Hotel Me (Davis-Evans) - 12:29
05. El Toreador (Evans) - 3:26
06. Proclamation (Evans) - 3:56
07. Nothing Like You (Dorough) - 2:36
08. Concorde (Lewis) - 7:40
09. Spoonful (Dixon) - 13:46
Gil Evans - The Individualism of Gil Evans (2003)

personnel :

[Gil Evans - piano, arranger
Johnny Coles - trumpet (Solo)
Thad Jones - trumpet
Ernie Royal - trumpet
Bernie Glow - trumpet
Louis Mucci - trumpet
Jimmy Knepper - trombone
Frank Rehak - trombone
Jimmy Cleveland - trombone (Solo)
Tony Studd - trombone
Bill Barber - tuba
Wayne Shorter - tenor sax (Solo)
Phil Woods - alto sax (Solo)
Eric Dolphy - woodwinds (flute, bass clarinet, alto sax)
Steve Lacy - soprano sax
Jerome Richardson - reeds, woodwinds
Bob Tricarico - reeds, woodwinds
Al Block - woodwinds (flute solo)
Garvin Bushell - reeds, woodwinds
Andy Fitzgerald - reeds, woodwinds
George Marge - reeds, woodwinds
Julius Watkins - french horn
Gil Cohen - french horn
Don Corado - french horn
Bob Northern - french horn
Jimmy Buffington - french horn
Ray Alonge - french horn
Harry Lookofsky - tenor violin
Bob Maxwell - harp
Margaret Ross - harp
Kenny Burrell - guitar
Barry Galbraith - guitar
Gary Peacock - bass
Ron Carter - bass
Paul Chambers - bass
Richard Davis - bass
Ben Tucker - bass
Milt Hinton - bass
Elvin Jones - drums
Osie Johnson - drums

Although Gil Evans had gained a lot of acclaim for his three collaborations with Miles Davis in the 1950s and his own albums, this CD contains (with the exception of two tracks purposely left off), Evans's only dates as a leader during 1961-68. The personnel varies on the six sessions that comprise the CD (which adds five numbers including two previously unreleased to the original Lp) with such major soloists featured as tenorman Wayne Shorter, trombonist Jimmy Cleveland, trumpeter Johnny Coles and guitarist Kenny Burrell. Highlights include "Time of the Barracudas," "The Barbara Song," "Las Vegas Tango" and "Spoonful." Highly recommended to Gil Evans fans; it is a pity he did not record more during this era.~Scott Yanow

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.