Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Bonnie Raitt - Same Old Love: The Minneapolis Broadcast 1979 (2015)

7-07-2015, 18:30
Music | Blues | Rock

Bonnie Raitt - Same Old Love: The Minneapolis Broadcast 1979 (2015)

Artist: Bonnie Raitt
Title Of Album: Same Old Love: The Minneapolis Broadcast 1979
Year Of Release: 2015
Genre: Blues Rock
Label: Sutra
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 77:50
Total Size: 181 MB
Covers: Front

01. Baby, I Love You (Live) (6:20)
02. I Thank You (Live) (2:47)
03. Sugar Mama (Live) (3:49)
04. Three Times Loser (Live) (3:59)
05. Your Good Thing (Live) (4:47)
06. The Glow (Live) (4:27)
07. Angel From Montgomery (Live) (3:57)
08. Give It Up (Live) (6:34)
09. Just In Case (Live) (3:56)
10. Walk Out The Front Door (Live) (3:13)
11. Danger Heartbreak Dead Ahead (Live) (4:58)
12. About To Make Me Leave Home (Live) (3:52)
13. Runaway (Live) (4:33)
14. You're Gonna Get What's Coming (Live) (4:27)
15. Standin' By The Same Old Love (Live) (3:46)
16. Hunk Of Love (Live) (3:17)
17. Gamblin' Man (Live) (3:39)
18. Under The Falling Sky (Live) (5:17)

Personnel: Bonnie Raitt - vocals, guitar; Freebo - bass; Rick Vito - guitar; Walt Richmond - keyboards; Dennis Whitted - drums; Marty Grebb - saxophone; Pat Hayes - harmonica

Before Bonnie Raitt walked out of the 1991 Grammy Awards with an arm full of trophies, she was a singer/songwriter trying to keep her music alive with a yearly ritual of a new tour and a new album. Although in 1979, her big commercial breakthrough was still a dozen years away, Raitt was well on her way to blending raw blues, R&B and rock into a decidedly more adult contemporary style.

When this show was recorded for the King Biscuit Flower Hour in 1979, Raitt was on the road promoting a new album on Warner Brothers entitled The Glow. Since her first Warner LP, Give It Up in 1972, Raitt had expanded her live band from an acoustic duo consisting of herself and bassist Freebo, to a full fledged electric band doing much more contemporary styled blues, rock, R&B and folk than she had in her earlier years. This show marks the end of nine weeks on the road, and the band is as tight as a drum - this lineup smokes.

She opens with "Baby I Love You" and moves straight into Sam & Dave's classic "I Thank You." This show moves from one highlight to the next. Raitt's take on Mable John's "You're Good Thing Is About To End" is a particular standout, as is "Angel From Montgomery." The show also features a one-two punch of "Runaway" (Raitt had had a hit in 1977 with a rocked-up version of the 1961 Del Shannon hit) and raucous replay of Robert Palmer's "You're Gonna Get What's Coming." The show closes with a powerhouse version of "Under The Falling Sky" featuring Pat Hayes' smoking harmonica work.

When Raitt recorded this show at the Orpheum in Minneapolis, she and her band were only a few months away from the historic No Nukes rally held in the fall of 1979 in Battery Park, New York City. That event would forever place Bonnie Raitt on the list of activist artists, and she has consistently supported multiple causes to this day.

My Blog
For requests/re-ups, please send me private message.

Uploaded | Turbobit

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.