Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Byrds - The Notorious Byrd Brothers 1968 (1997 Remaster)

6-07-2015, 15:34
Music | Rock | FLAC / APE

The Byrds - The Notorious Byrd Brothers 1968 (1997 Remaster)

Artist: The Byrds
Title Of Album: The Notorious Byrd Brothers
Year Of Release: 1997
Label: Columbia/CK 65151
Genre: Rock, Psychedelic Rock
Format: Mp3 | FLAC (tracks,cue,log)
Quality: 320 kbps | Lossless
Total Time: 47:49 min
Total Size: 143 mb | 339 mb


1. Artificial Energy (2:18)
2. Goin' Back (3:26)
3. Natural Harmony (2:11)
4. Draft Morning (2:42)
5. Wasn't Born To Follow (2:04)
6. Get To You (2:39)
7. Change Is Now (3:21)
8. Old John Robertson (1:49)
9. Tribal Gathering (2:03)
10. Dolphin's Smile (2:00)
11. Space Odyssey (3:52)

Bonus Tracks:
12. Moog Raga (Instrumental) (3:24)
13. Bound To Fall (Instrumental) (2:08)
14. Triad (3:29)
15. Goin' Back (Version One) (3:55)
16. Draft Morning (Alternate End) (2:55)
17. Universal Mind Decoder (Instrumental) (3:33)

The recording sessions for the Byrds' fifth album, The Notorious Byrd Brothers, were conducted in the midst of internal turmoil that found them reduced to a duo by the time the record was completed. That wasn't evident from listening to the results, which showed the group continuing to expand the parameters of their eclecticism while retaining their hallmark guitar jangle and harmonies. With assistance from producer Gary Usher, they took more chances in the studio, enhancing the spacy quality of tracks like "Natural Harmony" and Goffin & King's "Wasn't Born to Follow" with electronic phasing. Washes of Moog synthesizer formed the eerie backdrop for "Space Odyssey," and the songs were craftily and unobtrusively linked with segues and fades. But the Byrds did not bury the essential strengths of their tunes in effects: "Goin' Back" (also written by Goffin & King) was a magnificent and melodic cover with the expected tasteful 12-string guitar runs that should have been a big hit. "Tribal Gathering" has some of the band's most effervescent harmonies; "Draft Morning" is a subtle and effective reflection of the horrors of the Vietnam War; and "Old John Robertson" looks forward to the country-rock that would soon dominate their repertoire. [The CD reissue adds six bonus tracks, including different versions of "Goin' Back" and "Draft Morning," a few instrumentals, and David Crosby's controversial "Triad"; unlisted on the sleeve is a rehearsal outtake which captures comically vitriolic arguments among the band.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.