Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Alan Price Set – The Price To Play (1996)

30-06-2015, 20:28
Rock | FLAC / APE

Alan Price Set – The Price To Play (1996)

Artist: Alan Price Set
Title Of Album: The Price To Play
Year Of Release: 1996
Label: Repertoire Records: REP 4611 WY
Genre: Rock
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue,scans)
Bitrate: lossless
Total Time: 01:13:31
Total Size: 268 mb
WebSite: discogs


01. Barefootin' 04:36
02. Just Once In My Life 03:26
03. Going Down Slow 04:47
04. Gettin' Mighty Crowded 02:16
05. Honky Tonk 04:42
06. Move On Drifter 02:31
07. Mercy Mercy 03:09
08. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever 02:45
09. Ain't That Peculiar03:22
10. I Can't Turn You Loose 02:23
11. Critic's Choice 02:01
12. Hi-Lili Hi-Lo (Stereo) 02:49
Additional Tracks:
13. Any Day Now 02:59
14. Never Be Sick On Sunday 03:58
15. I Put A Spell On You 03:19
16. Iechyd-Da 03:35
17. Take Me Home 02:48
18. Willow Weep For Me 02:46
19. Yours Until Tomorrow 02:50
20. Simon Smith And The Amazing Dancing Bear (Stereo) 01:50
21. Who Cares 02:54
22. Shame 02:48
23. Simon Smith And The Amazing Dancing Bear 02:02
24. Tickle Me 02:46

Price's first album (released in the U.K. only, although some tracks would come out in the U.S.) is a rather routine set of club R&B/soul. Fronting a six-piece that includes three horns, Price sticks mostly to covers of familiar American tunes like "Mercy Mercy," "Ain't That Peculiar," "I Can't Turn You Loose," and "Barefootin'" on this amiable, but hardly remarkable, set. Price's voice is appealing, but lacks power, and in all it sounds like a clump of covers ground out hurriedly to get an album on the market. Georgie Fame did this kind of thing better, though Price's approach isn't as jazz-oriented. The CD reissue on Repertoire doubles the length of the original LP by adding 12 bonus tracks from 1965-1967 singles, including the brilliant British hit "I Put a Spell on You." The other singles cuts, alas, aren't in the same league, though in general they're better than the ones that constituted The Price to Play. His cover of "Any Day Now" is decent, and the interpretation of Randy Newman's "Simon Smith and the Dancing Bear" (presented in two versions) would both give him a British hit and foretell a move into a much poppier direction.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.