Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Ezra Furman - Perpetual Motion People (Deluxe Edition) (2015)

4-07-2015, 15:38
Music | Pop | Indie | FLAC / APE

Ezra Furman - Perpetual Motion People (Deluxe Edition) (2015)

Artist: Ezra Furman
Title Of Album: Perpetual Motion People
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Bella Union
Genre: Indie Pop
Quality: 320 / FLAC
Total Time: 61:25 min
Total Size: 140 / 380 MB
WebSite: Album Preview


01. Restless Year (2:25)
02. Lousy Connection (4:11)
03. Hark! to the Music (1:25)
04. Haunted Head (4:49)
05. Hour of Deepest Need (4:27)
06. Wobbly (3:00)
07. Ordinary Life (2:20)
08. Tip of a Match (2:35)
09. Body Was Made (3:31)
10. Watch You Go By (4:09)
11. Pot Holes (3:18)
12. Can I Sleep in Your Brain (3:57)
13. One Day I Will Sin No More (2:31)

Deluxe Edition (Bonus CD - Other People's Songs):

01. Devil's Haircut
02. The Good Book
03. Crown of Love
04. Androgynous
05. I Can Change

Perpetual Motion People was recorded with Furman’s current band The Boyfriends - comprising Jorgen Jorgensen (bass), Ben Joseph (keyboards, guitar), Sam Durkes (drums) and saxophonist Tim Sandusky – at studio Ballistico in Furman’s home city of Chicago (though he’s currently based in San Francisco). The album kicks off with ‘Restless Year’, about which Consequence Of Sound described as, “a ball of energy, bouncing around genre borders with glee. There’s the rebellion of ’90s indie rock, a string of sunshine-y ’80s pop, and the snarl of ’70s punk.”

“The opening lines of my records tend to be summary statements,” says Furman. “Every year has been restless, physically and even more internally.” Hence the title Perpetual Motion People, “That's who it was made by and that's who it's for. People who feel they can never settle. I’m restless in most aspects. I don't tend to live in one place for long. I am always changing the way I present my gender. My religious life is intensely up and down in terms of observance and personal convictions. I’ve always viewed the idea of truth itself as something wobbly, always slipping out of our grasp. That's what the songs are about: a head that is haunted, a society I cannot join, a lover who is perpetually in the act of leaving. A central idea is the fugitive or runaway, in a hideout built in the midst of an unfriendly or alienated world.”

“The other aspect is a feeling of expansiveness, the largeness of emotion, from joy to pain. Some people think life is small or confined, but to me it’s just big, and I’d say each song has something to say, to declare themselves large. It’s also to do with trying to make something that a lot of people would listen to after Day Of The Dog got some kind of increased attention.”

In that, he’s done his job, switching from the sinewy jubilance of ‘Hark! To The Music’ to the wistful heart-ache of ‘Ordinary Life’, from the power-pop snarl of ‘Tip Of The Match’ to the wracked country blues of “One Day I Will Sin No More”. The waterfront covered marks Furman out as a true original, tapping avenues of music that most others have left alone, or wouldn’t have the guts to emulate. “There’s rarely been a scene that I’ve wanted to be part of,” he admits. “I’m just not hearing other stuff out there that I wish existed, so that’s my goal, to do it myself.”

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.