Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Young Art Pepper - With Stan Kenton & Shorty Rogers (1996)

18-05-2015, 06:49
Jazz | FLAC / APE

The Young Art Pepper - With Stan Kenton & Shorty Rogers (1996)

Artist: The Young Art Pepper
Title Of Album: with Stan Kenton & Shorty Rogers
Year Of Release: 1996
Label: Giants of Jazz/53229
Genre: Mainstream Jazz / Cool
Quality: APE (image+.cue)
Bitrate: Lossless
Total Time: 65'09
Total Size: 333 mb
WebSite: amazon


Shorty Rogers and his Giants
1. Blues Express
2. Short Stop
3. Bunny
4. Morpo
5. Pirouette
6. At Home with Sweets
7. Chiquito Loco
8. Sweetheart of Sigmund Freud
9. Over the Rainbow
10. Popo
11. Didi
12. Sam and the Lady
13. Apropos

Stan Kenton and his Orchestra
14. Art Pepper
15. Dynaflow
16. Street of Dreams
17. Jump for Joe
18. Sambo
19. Jolly Rogers
20. Harlem Folk Dance

This particular compilation finds both headliners in top early career form: Pepper, lyrical and passionate in his solo work; Rogers, witty and masterful in the way he arrays the forces at his disposal.
The pieces themselves are tightly constructed, the longest clocking in at 5:18, the shortest at 2:15, but it is Rogers' gift as a composer/arranger to make almost every one seem neither a note too long nor a beat too short.
This strikes me as especially true in his sides with Giants.
There is a greater freedom and sense of (for lack of a better term) joy in these smaller ensemble essays than in the professional, note perfect but more regimented treatments offered under Kenton's (reputedly dictatorial) leadership.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.