Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Old & In the Way - Live at the Boarding House (2014)

6-05-2015, 19:08
Country | FLAC / APE

Old & In the Way - Live at the Boarding House (2014)

Artist: Old & In the Way
Album: Live at the Boarding House
Released: 2014
Label: Acoustic Disc / Acoustic Oasis
Genre: Country, Bluegrass
Quality: FLAC
Bitrate: Lossless
Total Time: 211:27
Total Size: 1.08 GB



01. On and On
02. I'm on My Way Back to the Old Home
03. Catfish John
04. Lonesome Fiddle Blues
05. Land of the Navajo
06. Down Where the River Bends
07. I Ain't Broke But I'm Badly Bent
08. Lost
09. Kissimee Kid
10. Lonesome L.A. Cowboy
11. Pig in a Pen
12. Wild Horses
13. Midnight Moonlight


01. Muleskinner Blues
02. Goin' to the Races
03. Old and In the Way
04. Old and In the Way Breakdown
05. Panama Red
06. Hard Hearted
07. That High Lonesome Sound
08. The Hobo Song
09. Drifting Too Far from the Shore
10. Angel Band
11. Wicked Path of Sin
12. Home is Where the Heart Is
13. Uncle Pen
14. Orange Blossom Special
15. Blue Mule


01. Home is Where the Heart Is
02. Love Please Come Home
03. Down Where the River Bends
04. Kissimee Kid
05. Pig in a Pen
06. Uncle Pen
07. Panama Red
08. Midnight Moonlight
09. White Dove
10. Wild Horses
11. Orange Blossom Special
12. Old and In the Way
13. Lonesome Fiddle Blues


01. On and On
02. Land of the Navajo
03. Catfish John
04. Til the End of the World Rolls 'Round
05. Drifting Too Far from the Shore
06. I'm Knocking on Your Door
07. Old & In the Way Breakdown
08. You'll Find Her Name Written There
09. Jerry's Breakdown
10. The Great Pretender
11. Working on a Building
12. That High Lonesome Sound
13. Wicked Path of Sin
14. Blue Mule

Review by Jeff Tamarkin

The first Old & In the Way release, recorded in 1973 and released in 1975, has for some time lay claim to being best-selling bluegrass recording of all time. The main reason for that, of course, was the presence of Jerry Garcia on banjo and vocals, although each of the bandmembers -- Vassar Clements on fiddle, David Grisman on mandolin and vocals, Peter Rowan on guitar and vocals, and John Kahn on bass -- was also a virtuoso. Although OAITW was able to handle a traditional bluegrass number -- vocal or instrumental -- as well as anyone, the musicians brought a jam band sensibility and rock attitude to the proceedings, extending the instrumental segments with improvisations, something alien to bluegrass up to that point. By doing so, the quintet pretty much invented the concept of progressive bluegrass, taking the music even further from its starting point than the New Grass Revival had the year before while simultaneously paying homage to its founders. The original Old & In the Way album, released on the Grateful Dead's Round Records label and reissued a few times subsequently, was recorded on October 8, 1973 at San Francisco's Boarding House club. It only included ten tracks from the two shows played that night though, and now, via a spinoff of Grisman's Acoustic Disc label, both sets are available in what is claimed to be their entirety on two CDs. "Claimed" to be because there remains one mysterious omission: the original 1973 album included the Jack Bonus-penned "The Hobo Song," which does not turn up on the new double-discer, meaning either that the 1973 album snatched it from another show or it's been omitted from the new release for some reason. The other nine tracks from the original are all accounted for, augmented by a superb collection of Rowan originals and cool covers ("The Great Pretender," "Orange Blossom Special," "Wild Horses"), all in pristine soundboard fidelity. This group was very short-lived, only playing about 30 gigs in all, but its influence and popularity remain strong among both Deadheads and bluegrass aficionados. This collection is about as definitive an OAITW release as there will ever be.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.