Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


J. B. Hutto & His Hawks - Hawk Squat (Bonus Tracks) (2015)

11-04-2015, 18:21
Music | Blues

J. B. Hutto & His Hawks - Hawk Squat (Bonus Tracks) (2015)

Artist: J. B. Hutto & His Hawks
Title Of Album: Hawk Squat (With Sunnyland Slim) (Bonus Tracks)
Year Of Release: 1968/2015
Genre: Chicago Blues
Label: Delmark Records
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 60:07
Total Size: 141 MB
Covers: Front

01. Speak My Mind (2:13)
02. If You Change Your Mind (3:13)
03. Too Much Pride (3:49)
04. What Can You Get Outside That You Can't Get At Home (3:23)
05. The Same Mistake Twice (3:26)
06. 20% Alcohol (3:25)
07. Hip-Shakin' (2:20)
08. The Feeling Is Gone (3:16)
09. Notoriety Woman (3:53)
10. Too Late (3:13)
11. Send Her Home To Me (3:00)
12. Hawk Squat (4:43)
13. I'll Cry Tomorrow (3:03)
14. Speak My Mind (Alternate) (2:11)
15. Too Much Pride (Alternate) (3:43)
16. Hawk Squat (Alternate) (4:27)
17. The Same Mistake Twice (Alternate) (3:22)
18. Speak My Mind (Alternate 2) (3:18)

Electric slide guitar master recorded with Sunnyland Slim, Lee Jackson, Junior Pettis, Maurice McIntyre, and Frank Kirkland. The rough and rowdy blues heard at Turner's Blues Lounge in the 60's has been captured in these explosive '66 and '68 sessions. J.B. tears the joint up!

Simply put, Augusta, Georgia-born J.B. Hutto was a master of the slide guitar. And, Chicago's Delmark Records guru Bob Koester has captured J.B. and his band in twelve scorching cuts that show why his slide playing has been an inspiration to many other guitarists as well. J.B. is on vocals and slide here, joined by Chicago veterans Lee Jackson on guitar, Alabama Jr. Pettis and Dave Myers on bass and Frank Kirkland on drums. Also of historical note is the presence of the venerable Sunnyland Slim on organ as well as piano, an instrument with which he was not always identified... Grab up a copy and - enjoy!! --Don Crow, Music City Blues

This album 'moves out' from start to finish. There is no need to discuss each cut; suffice it to say that each is an exciting representation of the rough and raw sound that this group features. The musicians are all veteran Chicago bluesmen: Sunnyland Slim, piano and organ; Dave Myers and Junior Pettis on bass... JB. Hutto is truly one of the greatest exponents of the slide electric guitar I have ever heard, and certainly has learned much from the old master Muddy Waters. Hutto's singing is also first rate, with his 'rough' voice, which is perfect for the blues. Hawk Squat is one of the finest urban blues albums to come out in a long time. It is more like a labor of love or a jam session between talented, veteran bluesmen, and as a result, a happy, informal feeling permeates the recording. It's a must for the urban blues collector. --Marshall Miller, Broadside

As blues artists go J.B. Hutto is definitely hardcore with an uncompromising guitar style born out of Elmore James, transformed into an edgy cutting bottleneck tone that formed the basis of a distinctive driving style of blues and found an outlet in the Chicago blues clubs in the 50's and 60's... --Keith Fitton, Rock 'n' Reel

My Blog
For requests/re-ups, please send me private message.

Uploaded | Turbobit

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.