Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Pere Ubu - The Tenement Year [Remastered & Expanded] (2007)

1-04-2015, 18:22
Music | Rock | Alternative | Punk | Indie | FLAC / APE

Pere Ubu - The Tenement Year [Remastered & Expanded] (2007)

Artist: Pere Ubu
Title Of Album: The Tenement Year
Year Of Release: 2007 [1988]
Label (Catalog#): Mercury [9846251]
Genre: Indie Rock, Alternative, Post-Punk
Quality: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue,log,scans)
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Time: 64:42 min
Full Size: 160 mb / 489 mb

In retrospect, The Tenement Year was clearly a transitional album for Pere Ubu. Reuniting with his band after a six-year hiatus, leader David Thomas is still hip-deep in post-industrial weirdness: Whether celebrating the existential dependability of fashion head wear, observing that the zoo is a bad place for bears and penguins, or expressing cautious optimism about technology, Thomas always sounds completely comfortable in his own wholly individual skin. And the band (performing here in its classic lineup with bassist Tony Maimone, drummer Scott Krauss, and synthesist Allen Ravenstine, among others) manages, as always, to stay solidly in the pocket even when pushing the boundaries of song structure and harmonic propriety. But as weird as they get, there are clear portents of the poppier sound to come: "Talk to Me," with its surf guitar bridge and downright singable chorus; the undeniable hook on "Say Goodbye"; and, above all, the sweet-tempered ballad "We Have the Technology" all point to themes and moods that would recur in the following year's Cloudland, an album that yielded not only a borderline hit single but also (gulp) an MTV video. What does it all add up to? The most accessible Ubu album that snobs can enjoy without feeling guilty. And astoundingly, given Thomas' public pronouncements on such matters, there's even a lyric sheet.


01. Something's Gotta Give [0:05:14.08]
02. George Had A Hat [0:04:03.69]
03. Talk To Me [0:03:33.04]
04. Bushman's Honeymoon [0:04:37.07]
05. Say Goodbye [0:04:59.63]
06. Universal Vibration [0:02:45.23]
07. Miss You [0:04:22.65]
08. Dream The Moon [0:03:27.52]
09. Rhythm King [0:04:29.09]
10. Thunder In The Mix [0:00:13.66]
11. The Hollow Earth [0:04:18.48]
12. We Have The Technology [0:03:04.56]
13. Postman Drove A Caddy [0:02:59.66]
14. The B-Side [0:04:48.12]
15. Miss You (live) [0:04:23.69]
16. We Have The Technology (live) [0:03:04.56]
17. The Hollow Earth (alt mix) [0:04:14.67]


cbr 320 kbps

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted