Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA – Sing Me The Songs: Celebrating The Work Of Kate McGarrigle (2013) Lossless

31-03-2015, 08:36
Music | Folk | Country | Pop | FLAC / APE

VA – Sing Me The Songs: Celebrating The Work Of Kate McGarrigle (2013) Lossless

Artist: VA
Title Of Album: Sing Me The Songs: Celebrating The Work Of Kate McGarrigle
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Nonesuch
Genre: Pop Folk, Tribute, Covers
Format: Flac
Quality: Lossless
Total Time: 129:19 Min
Total Size: 745 Mb


01. Kiss & Say Goodbye – By Rufus Wainwright, Anna McGarrigle, Martha Wainwright
02. Southern Boys – By Rufus Wainwright
03. Talk to Me of Mendocino – By Norah Jones
04. Entre Lajeunesse et la sagesse – By Rufus Wainwright, Anna McGarrigle, Emmylou Harris
05. Matapedia – By Martha Wainwright
06. I Eat Dinner (When the Hunger’s Gone – By Rufus Wainwright, Emmylou Harris
07. Swimming Song – By Jimmy Fallon
08. Saratoga Summer Song – By Teddy Thompson
09. Tell My Sister – By Martha Wainwright
10. I Don’t Know – By Krystle Warren
11. First Born – By Rufus Wainwright, Martha Wainwright
12. Heart Like a Wheel – By Emmylou Harris, Anna McGarrigle, Krystle Warren, Martha Wainwright, Lily Lanken
13. Go Leave – By Antony
14. As Fast As My Feet Can Carry Me – By Emmylou Harris, Norah Jones
15. Walking Song – By Rufus Wainwright
16. Proserpina – By Kate McGarrigle, Sloan Wainwright, Martha Wainwright

01. I Am a Diamond – By Martha Wainwright, Rufus Wainwright
02. Mother Mother – By Broken Social Scene
03. On My Way To Town – By Anna McGarrigle, Sylvan Lanken, Lily Lanken
04. Over The Hill – By Norah Jones, Lily Lanken
05. I Cried for Us – By Rufus Wainwright, Antony
06. The Work Song – By Justin Vivian Bond
07. Come Back Baby – By Jenni Muldaur, Teddy Thompson, Greg Prestopino
08. Oliver, Remember Me? – By Rufus Wainwright
09. Dans le silence – By Robert Charlebois, Anna McGarrigle
10. Jacques and Giles – By Anna McGarrigle, Lily Lanken
11. All the Way to San Francisco – By Martha Wainwright
12. Tell My Sister – By Peggy Seeger
13. Travelling On For Jesus – By Chaim Tannenbaum
14. Go Leave – By Linda Thompson, Richard Thompson
15. Darlin' Kate – By Emmylou Harris
16. Dink’s Song – By Anna McGarrigle, Chaim Tannenbaum, Rufus Wainwright, Martha Wainwright
17. Love Over and Over – By Sing Me The Songs Ensemble
18. I Just Want to Make It Last – By Kate McGarrigle

Released the day before Liam Lunson's film of the same name, this two-disc set offers music from three concerts that took place over three years in London, New York, and Toronto, curated by Joe Boyd. The film only covers the New York show, but the music here presents a much more expansive portrait of Kate McGarrigle's legacy and influence in 34 tracks. Hosted by her children, Martha and Rufus Wainwright, these performances are both a family album -- Kate's sister Anna participates, as does her daughter Lily Lanken, and aunt Sloan Wainwright-- and a star-studded tribute. Performers include Emmylou Harris, Norah Jones, Antony Hegarty, Justin Vivian Bond, Krystle Warren, Linda and Richard Thompson, Teddy Thompson, Jenni Muldaur, and Jimmy Fallon, performing either solo and/or in various combinations backed by three different ensembles comprised of crack musicians. Many of these performances showcase McGarrigle's diverse, restless, and insightful songwriting, and how enduring her songs are. Highlights include a stirring "(Talk to Me) Of Mendocino" with Jones' lead vocal backed by Martha and Rufus. Martha's solo reading of "Matapedia" is sparsely orchestrated with only an acoustic guitar, violin and her vocal, which gets deep inside the grain of the lyric. Teddy Thompson's offering of "Saratoga Summer Song," sounds like it was written for him. Given Kate's passing, Anna's classic "Heart Like a Wheel," sung by her, Harris, Warren, Martha, and Lanken, is searing. Hegarty delivers a devastating solo on "Go Leave," and Harris and Jones offer a rousing version of "As Fast as My Feet Can Carry Me," backed by a full country band. Martha's and Rufus' duet on "I Am a Diamond" opens disc two as a militant yet delicate personal anthem. The second version of "Go Leave" by Linda Thompson backed by Richard's guitar, is doubly poignant given it's performed by a divorced couple. Rufus' and Hegarty's performance of "I Cried for Us" is perhaps the most heartbreaking track on the entire set, while Peggy Seeger's "Tell My Sister," sung in a quavering voice, carries within it both vulnerability and empathy. The two biggest surprises here are in the closing sections on both discs. Kate McGarrigle herself appears via the wonders of technology on "Prosperina," where her voice is accompanied by Sloan and Martha, and in "I Just Want to Make It Last," a late home solo demo that addresses her mortality with wit, irony, and tenderness.This collection offers testimony to Kate's unique, quirky vision and reminds us of what we've lost. More than anything, Sing Me The Songs... is a celebration, and is presented as such: informal, intimate, humorous, and always, even in its uneven moments, thoroughly engaging.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.