Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


High Speed Downloads

Shane Howard - Deeper South (2015)
[MP3 Version]

8946 downloads at 13 mb/s

Shane Howard - Deeper South (2015)
[FLAC Version]

9672 downloads at 25 mb/s

Shane Howard - Deeper South (2015)

17-03-2015, 23:57
Music | Folk | Rock

Shane Howard - Deeper South (2015)

Artist: Shane Howard
Title Of Album: Deeper South
Year Of Release: 2015
Genre: Folk/Rock
Label: Self Produced
Quality: MP3 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 78:50
Total Size: 181 MB

1. Deeper South - Gone With The Wind (10:00)
2. Everything Is Rusted ( 7:27)
3. You're The Love ( 4:28)
4. Poor Poor Country ( 4:31)
5. Gecko 'joseph Patrick’s' Merri Jig ( 5:19)
6. The Ghost Of Love ( 6:44)
7. Little Joey Was A Pirate ( 8:32)
8. Hymn To Love ( 8:17)
9. Grief's A Lonely Thing ( 4:08)
10. Deep In My Heart - O'neill's March ( 6:30)
11. Same Old Song ( 3:55)
12. In The Long Run ( 8:53)

For 35 years Shane Howard's songs have mapped the human spirit and the Australian landscape. That landscape has been populated with rivers; raging rivers in flood, desert rivers running dry, deep rivers winding or forging their way to the sea. With ‘Deeper South’, these rivers are unbound and finally find their way to the sea. The musical landscape is as vast, mysterious and powerful as the Southern Ocean and Howard has found his true musical home. He is at his best.

This is an album that redefines the boundaries of Australian folk music and reinvigorates it with poetic and musical mastery. The musical influences are as diverse as jazz, blues, country, Australian folk music and the deep well of traditional Celtic music.

On his 13th solo album, Howard’s musicality and skill as a guitarist are also on display and are enriched by the accomplished playing of John Hudson (guitar, dobro, mandolin) and Ewen Baker (fiddle, mandolin). Recorded in Howard’s home studio, the trio played and played, to capture a live performance, rather than constructing studio tracks. With the live tracks down, long term music collaborator Ruben Shannon added Acoustic Bass and special musical guests, Peter Grayling and Rosie Luby added Cello, Tommy Carty, Bouzouki and Andy Richardson, Flute.

Some tracks rock and roll, like a boat ploughing deep into Antarctic waters, set free from the troubles that beset the land, sailing wildly into the tempest of mighty squalls. Other songs are deeply meditative, like the calm, glassy, seas of Summer. Irish and Scottish tunes flow in and out of the entire record, like ocean currents.

Lyrically, Howard sets out on a complex and diverse voyage through the human experience with meditations on the writings of St Paul, songs inspired from Sufi poetry, meditations on grief, songs set to the words of John Shaw Neilsen's poetry and a pirate murder ballad set in the Gulf of Carpentaria.

Stories with biting social commentary and dark satire sit alongside praise poems to both the feminine and the divine, like the hauntingly beautiful, ‘You’re The Love’, co-written with Russ Kunkel during the Carole King tour. Songs of tenderness and mercy stand beside tales of murder. In ‘Deeper South’ there is loss and longing, and love, in many forms and hues. There is raw power, subtlety and at times, the sublime.

‘Deeper South ‘ is a created world of powerful imagining and the music that propels the words and the narrative is equally masterful. This is true folk music, but not as we know it.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.