Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Quiet Storm - Gold [Remastered] (2007)

11-03-2015, 16:38
Soul | Funk | R&B | Pop | FLAC / APE

VA - Quiet Storm - Gold [Remastered] (2007)

Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: Quiet Storm - Gold
Year Of Release: 2007
Label: Universal Music
Genre: Smooth Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues, Ballad
Quality: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue,log)
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Time: 2:33:05
Full Size: 368 mb / 1 gb
WebSite: amazon

One could say that no quiet storm compilation lacking Minnie Riperton's "Inside My Love," Rick James and Teena Marie's "Fire and Desire," or Patti Austin and James Ingram's "Baby, Come to Me" is complete. But there's simply no way to make a definitive two-disc compilation of '70s and early-'80s R&B ballads. When it comes to being representative of the quiet storm format, however, this set from Hip-O hits just about all the right spots. It covers chart-toppers and cult favorites alike, with no song undeserving of inclusion. Like most of the other titles in the Gold series, it's put together thoughtfully -- two classics written by Michael Henderson (Norman Connors' MH-fronted "You Are My Starship" and the Dramatics' "Be My Girl") are placed back-to-back, for instance, and there's a smooth transition from the material featuring full-band arrangements with strings to drum machines and synthesizers. The lasting value of these songs isn't merely evident in the specialty programs that continue to float through late-night and early-morning airwaves; many of the selections have been either sampled or covered, like the Gap Band's "Yearning for Your Love" (covered by Guy), Rose Royce's "I Wanna Get Next to You" (covered by ChristiГіn), the Isley Brothers' "Between the Sheets" (sampled for Notorious B.I.G.'s "Big Poppa"), and Bobby Caldwell's "What You Won't Do for Love" (sampled for Aaliyah's "Age Ain't Nothing But a Number").


Disc 1:
1. Quiet Storm - Smokey Robinson 7:50
2. A Song For You - The Temptations 4:37
3. Sweet Love - Commodores 6:35
4. Love Ballad - L.T.D. 4:34
5. You Are My Starship - Norman Connors 4:30
6. Be My Girl - The Dramatics 4:30
7. After The Dance - Marvin Gaye 4:39
8. Baby, I'm For Real - The Originals 3:19
9. Sunshine - Enchantment 4:52
10. I Wanna Get Next To You - Rose Royce 3:55
11. Yearning For Your Love - The Gap Band 5:43
12. What You Won't Do For Love - Bobby Caldwell 4:46
13. I've Got Love On My Mind - Natalie Cole 4:18
14. Never Can Say Goodbye - Isaac Hayes 5:07
15. 'Cause I Love You - Lenny Williams 7:05

Disc 2:
1. Turn Off The Lights - Teddy Pendergrass 5:53
2. Between The Sheets - The Isley Brothers 5:36
3. Heaven Must Be Like This - Ohio Players 7:17
4. Special Lady - Ray, Goodman & Brown 4:15
5. Something In The Past - One Way 6:11
6. Somewhere There's A Love - Shalamar 4:23
7. All This Love - DeBarge 5:53
8. I Wanna Be Closer - Switch 4:16
9. Love's Train - Con Funk Shun 5:15
10. You Are My Lady - Freddie Jackson 4:42
11. Just Gets Better With Time - The Whispers 4:28
12. Your Smile - Rene & Angela 4:58
13. Magic Man - Robert Winters & Fall 4:26
14. Let Me Make Love To You - The O'Jays 3:39
15. Feel The Fire - Stephanie Mills 4:57



cbr 320 kbps


ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
5 voted