Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Enchantment - Soft Lights, Sweet Music (1980)

11-03-2015, 15:49
Soul | Funk | R&B | Disco | FLAC / APE | HD & Vinyl

Enchantment - Soft Lights, Sweet Music (1980)

Artist: Enchantment
Title Of Album: Soft Lights, Sweet Music
Year Of Release: 1980
Label (Catalog#): RCA Victor ‎[AFL1-3824]
Genre: Soul, Disco, Funk
Quality: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks,vinyl,scans)
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Time: 36:09 min
Full Size: 100 mb / 238 mb

As with most of Enchantment's album, this one too was battling the transition that the music industry was making from disco to the electronic age of music in the '80s. Nonetheless, the Detroit-based showmen maintained their dedication to a wholesome repertoire of music, and this album, their fourth, is no exception. Turning their attention toward more uptempo and mid-tempo grooves, Enchantment does not forfeit their loyalty to that golden vocal sound that has made their music everlasting. The title track, "Soft Lights, Sweet Music," is a dance number blazing with admirable background vocal exchanges that are varnished with E.J. Johnson's skilled vocal delivery that transcends to a merciful ad lib. "I Believe in You" is somewhat of a duet; it features Dave Banks on lead through most of the song, and Johnson, who seductively carries the vocal interlude, augments the end of each verse with his rich tenor.

"I Can't Fake It" is reminiscent of two other group's that originated in Detroit: the Temptations and the Miracles. Showcasing Joe Thomas on lead, "I Can't Fake It" has all the workings of a Motown classic with a curvaceous background vocal arrangement, compliments of Johnson. Thomas' lead is also featured on "Moment of Weakness." A soft and easy-flowing number that graced the Billboard R&B charts for eight weeks and peaking at number 47. "You and Me," written and led by Johnson's nurturing tenor, this composition is in a class of its own. Maintaining the beautiful arrangement and mesmerizing tone in spite of the creative 3/4 rhythm arrangement.


1 Settin' It Out 3:59
2 I'm Who You Found (Not Who You Lost) 4:13
3 I Believe In You 5:04
4 Moment Of Weakness 3:45
5 I Can't Fake It 2:54
6 Soft Lights, Sweet Music 4:20
7 Are You Ready For Love 4:07
8 I Can't Be The One 3:07
9 You And Me 5:03

Emanuel Johnson, George Roundtree, Rudy Robinson, William Wooten, Eugene Butler - Keyboards
Bruce Nazarian - Guitar
Jerry Jones - Drums
Greg Coles, Tommy DeLoch, Anthony Tony Willis, Jerzonny Collier - Bass
Mike Lacopelli, Trenita Womack, Carl "Butch" Small - Percussion



cbr 320 kbps


ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted