Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Gil Shaham - Bach: Sonatas & Partitas (2015)

8-03-2015, 15:53
Music | Classical Music | FLAC / APE | HD & Vinyl

Gil Shaham - Bach: Sonatas & Partitas (2015)

Artist: Gil Shaham
Title Of Album: Bach: Sonatas & Partitas
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Canary
Genre: Classical
Quality: 320 / 24bit FLAC
Total Time: 117:20 min
Total Size: 271 MB / 1.23 GB
WebSite: Album Preview


Disc: 1
1. Adagio
2. Fuga (Allegro)
3. Siciliana
4. Presto
5. Allemanda
6. Double
7. Corrente
8. Double (Presto)
9. Sarabande
10. Double
11. Tempo Di Borea
12. Double
13. Grave
14. Fuga
15. Andante
16. Allegro

Disc: 2
1. Allemanda
2. Corrente
3. Sarabanda
4. Giga
5. Ciaccona
6. Adagio
7. Fuga
8. Largo
9. Allegro Assai
10. Preludio
11. Loure
12. Gavotte En Rondeau
13. Menuet I - Menuet II
14. BourrГ©e
15. Giga

These works have been part of Shaham's concert programmes for over 10 years and for this recording he has decided on a 'more Baroque set-up' opting for a Baroque bridge, Baroque bow and 3 of 4 strings being gut.

When asked what effect this set-up has on his interpretation Gil indicated that 'it changes every stroke, but it doesn't really change general ideas of interpretation. You can do everything with both sets of bow and bridge, although some things are easier with the modern bow, some with the Baroque one. The "small softness" (coined by Leopold Mozart) is easier with the Baroque bow.'

The tempos Gil Shaham has settled on in this recording are also quite different from what one might expect. Shaham takes inspiration from other works by Bach, as he explains; 'if you compare the French minuet from Partita No.3, with say the minuet from a French suite, or even the famous 'Anna Magdalena' minuet I found myself asking myself wouldn't it work better at the same tempo as the others? The Baroque bow is lighter and is easier to play faster.'

The deluxe package comes complete with Shaham's insightful views on these works in discussion with former Strad Magazine editor Ariane Todes.

Gil Shaham remains second to none in the masterworks of the mainstream violin repertoire, and here offers a recording of bold originality in what is one the most unforgiving of old-school challenges: that of playing solo Bach.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.