Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Benny Carter - From the MusicMasters Catalogue - Set 1 (2011)

1-03-2015, 15:53
Jazz | FLAC / APE

Benny Carter - From the MusicMasters Catalogue - Set 1 (2011)

Artist: Benny Carter
Album: From the MusicMasters Catalogue - Set 1
Year Of Release: 2011
Label: Nimbus Records
Genre: Jazz
Quality: 320 kbps | Lossless
Format: MP3 | FLAC
Total Time: 01:02:23
Total Size: 574 mb | 1.33 gb



01. I'm in the Mood for Swing
02. Another Time, Another Place
03. The Courtship
04. Rock Me to Sleep
05. Janel
06. The Romp
07. Summer Serenade
08. Not So Blue
09. You, Only You
10. Blue Moonlight
11. South Side Samba


01. Over the Rainbow
02. Out of Nowhere
03. Straight Talk
04. The Gal from Atlanta
05. The Pawnbroker
06. Easy Money
07. Ain't Misbehavin'
08. Blues for Lucky Lovers


01. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home to
02. All the Things You Are
03. Key Largo
04. Just Friends
05. My Romance
06. 'S Wonderful
07. Time for the Blues


01. Reet's Neet
02. Just a Mood (II)
03. Sultry Serenade
04. We Were In Love
05. My Man Benny
06. My Man Phil
07. Just a Mood (I)
08. M.A. Blues
09. People Time
10. I'm Just Wild About Harry

This boxed set of four CDs recorded between 1987 and 1989 illustrates Benny Carter's versatility performing with four different groups. He was already aged 80 when he recorded the first of these albums, yet there is no sign of ageing. Indeed, Benny stayed alive and active until he was 95.

From the very first track, the listener is struck by Carter's pure, mellow sound, putting him in contention with Johnny Hodges and Willie Smith as one of the three altoists in jazz with the sweetest tone. This CD also exhibits Benny as a composer, since he wrote all eleven tunes. Dizzy Gillespie makes guest appearances on three tracks, playing with restraint and harmonizing well with Carter. Howard Alden guests on seven tracks, and justifies his presence in the opening title-track, blending with Carter melodiously in the theme statement and supplying a clear-cut solo. Roland Hanna swings comfortably, and Mraz swaps eights and then fours with Bellson.

The second CD displays Benny Carter's skills not only as a soloist and composer but also as an arranger, since he arranged all eight tracks - for five saxophones plus rhythm section. Carter had long been a past master at arranging for saxophone sections, from 1937 when he wrote arrangements for a sax section of himself, Coleman Hawkins, Andr‚ Ekyan and Alix Combelle.

Carter's skill is shown in the adventurously fast Over the Rainbow, where the five saxes blend in perfect harmony. All members of the septet get the chance for a solo, mostly half a chorus each, although Benny gets a whole chorus and the bassist and drummer share their half. In terms of tone, Carter stands out from the other saxophonists with his total purity of sound. All the other tracks make the most of the contrast between the soloists and the sax ensembles.

Unlike the three other CDs, the third disc is a live recording, taped at Carlos I in New York in October 1988. This is a simple quartet session which allows Benny's alto to shine. The seven tracks are mostly jazz standards, with a couple of Carter originals; Key Largo which has a gentle Latin-American pulse, and Time for the Blues, which Carter plays on trumpet, while Richard Wyands contributes a suitably down-home piano solo.

The final CD puts together two of the great alto-saxophonists in jazz: Benny Carter and Phil Woods. It is interesting to compare their contrasting styles; Woods having a more extrovert tone, betraying his bebop influences, although he is just as adroit and impeccable as Carter. On Benny Carter's, We Were in Love, both men change their instruments: Carter playing trumpet and Woods on clarinet. In My Man Phil, Carter even sings in praise of Phil Woods, and Phil justifies the acclaim with a vivacious three-chorus solo.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.