Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Frank Loesser - Guys & Dolls Original Broadway Cast (2014)

28-02-2015, 11:44
Jazz | Soundtrack | Pop | Oldies | FLAC / APE

VA - Frank Loesser - Guys & Dolls Original Broadway Cast (2014)

Artist: Frank Loesser
Title Of Album: Guys & Dolls Original Broadway Cast
Year Of Release: 1950 [2014]
Label: The Digital Gramophone
Genre: Vocal, Score, Musical
Quality: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks)
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Time: 41:50 min
Full Size: 101 mb / 178 mb

Guys and Dolls, based on the stories of Damon Runyon about New York gamblers, became a stunning success upon its Broadway opening in 1950. While Abe Burrows' libretto was much praised, the show's main asset is Frank Loesser's songs, which are unfailingly tuneful and which accurately represent the vernacular of Runyon's characters, from "Fugue for Tinhorns," a trio song full of horse racing slang, to "Sit Down You're Rockin' the Boat," a revival meeting pastiche in which a gambler claims to have found salvation. "Luck Be a Lady," a gambler's ode to good fortune, became a standard. Winning as these are, love songs such as "I'll Know" and "I've Never Been in Love Before" are equally affecting. And that isn't even to mention the songs that became contemporary hits, "If I Were a Bell" and "A Bushel and a Peck." The original cast was headed by Vivian Blaine, a comic singer effective at putting across the humorous material, and Robert Alda, who proved to be a smooth-voiced, commanding lead. The original Broadway cast album was recorded December 3, 1950, and hit #1 in March 1951. It remains the definitive version of a score that has not been recorded as often as one might expect, given the show's perennial appeal. After a 1991 upgrade for the CD era, it was reissued in 2000 to mark the show's 50th anniversary. In addition to 24-bit remastering and a redesigned CD booklet with lots of photographs, this version contained as bonus tracks the four recordings released in 1955 from the movie soundtrack. This material makes an interesting gloss on the original recordings and is a welcome addition.


01. Stubby Kaye & Johnny Silver & Douglas Deane & Isabel Bigley & Frank Loesser - Runyonland Music – Fugue for Tin Horns – Follow the Fold (3:24)
02. Sam Levene & Stubby Kaye & Johnny Silver & Frank Loesser - The Oldest Established (2:38)
03. Robert Alda & Isabel Bigley & Frank Loesser - I'll Know (3:33)
04. Vivian Blaine & The Hot Box Girls & Frank Loesser - A Bushel and a Peck (1:34)
05. Robert Alda & Frank Loesser - My Time of Day (1:58)
06. Vivian Blaine & Frank Loesser - Adelaide's Lament (3:20)
07. Stubby Kaye & Johnny Silver & Frank Loesser - Guys and Dolls (2:53)
08. Isabel Bigley & Frank Loesser - If I Were a Bell (2:56)
09. Robert Alda & Isabel Bigley & Frank Loesser - I've Never Been in Love Before (2:41)
10. Vivian Blaine & The Hot Box Girls & Frank Loesser - Take Back Your Mink (2:56)
11. Pat Rooney, Sr. & Frank Loesser - More I Cannot Wish You (2:32)
12. Robert Alda & Frank Loesser - Luck Be a Lady (3:03)
13. Vivian Blaine & Sam Levene & Frank Loesser - Sue Me (2:29)
14. Stubby Kaye & Frank Loesser - Sit Down, You're Rockin' the Boat (2:14)
15. Vivian Blaine & Isabel Bigley & Frank Loesser - Marry the Man Today (2:52)
16. Stubby Kaye & Johnny Silver & Douglas Deane & Isabel Bigley & Vivian Blaine & Sam Levene & Robert Alda & Pat Rooney, Sr. & The Guys and Dolls Orchestra & Irving Actman & Frank Loesser - Reprise: Guys and Dolls (0:40)



cbr 320 kbps


ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted