Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Robert Haigh - The Silence of Ghosts (2015)

23-02-2015, 08:17
Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Robert Haigh - The Silence of Ghosts (2015)

Artist: Robert Haigh
Title Of Album: The Silence of Ghosts
Year Of Release: 2015
Label (Catalog#): Siren Records [SIREN 024]
Country: England
Genre: Modern Classical, Piano, Contemporary
Quality: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue,log)
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Time: 44:58 min
Full Size: 106 mb / 162 mb

Veteran UK musician/composer Robert Haigh returns to Siren for the first time in three years. Although not a major departure from Haigh's previous work for the label (three albums of piano music released between 2009 and 2011 subsequently known as the Siren Trilogy) this 18 track collection benefits from a wider pallet of subtle sonic textures. With The Silence Of Ghosts Haigh has visioned a journey through strange and beautiful terrain - a topography of fragile melodies and muted discords.

The opening track, Song Of Selene, is a spacious, hymn-like nocturne; hauntingly stark and reflective. In Another Light is an off-beat waltz (3/4, 2/4 time) in which a cyclic theme explores major and minor keys with subtle electronic shimmers. Crooked Mile is a Satie-esque outing featuring an angular melody that climbs through strange modal keys to a discordant destination. The title track The Silence Of Ghosts is achingly melodic, yearning and touching - a eulogy to things that have passed. Where later tracks such as Happening no. 1 and 2 explore Haigh's gift for improvisation, the ghostly Demian Air presents a deep sonic excursion through electronic textures where submerged piano notes echo across alien terrain. The closing track, New Cross Counterpoint, was originally based on a refrain from Haigh's own earlier composition of the same name (from A Waltz In Plain C). The track with its Glass-like arpeggiated piano counterpoint subsequently took on a life of its own but Haigh decided to keep the title anyway since it 'felt right' for the piece.

The Silence Of Ghosts is a mature and deeply reflective work employing Robert Haigh's distinctive subverted melodies and spacious counterpoint. This collection should appeal to fans of Satie, Debussy, Harold Budd, Philip Glass and Max Richter.


1 Song Of Selene
2 In Another Light
3 Crooked Mile
4 Happening No. 1
5 The Silence Of Ghosts
6 Twelve Tone Poem
7 Fragile Again
8 Lost Rites
9 Pentatonic Dream
10 Crossing The Water
11 Bells Of Lyonesse
12 Second Nature
13 A Cycle Of Flattened Fifths
14 Happening No. 2
15 Thieves Of Symmetry
16 Demian Air
17 Years
18 New Cross Counterpoint



cbr 320 kbps


ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 60
4 voted