Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention - Ahead Of Their Time (1993 / 2012)

16-02-2015, 09:29
Music | Rock | Electronic | Other | FLAC / APE

Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention - Ahead Of Their Time (1993 / 2012)

Artist: Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention
Title Of Album: Ahead Of Their Time [Zappa Records Remaster]
Year Of Release: 2012 (1993)
Label (Catalog#): Zappa Records, Universal [0238872]
Country: USA
Genre: Rock / Experimental Rock / Art Rock / Comedy
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue,.log) | Mp3
Bitrate: Lossless | CBR 320 kbps
Time: 01:07:30
Full Size: 908 MB (Scans) | 233 MB (Covers)

Official Release #61. The date is October 28, 1968. The Mothers of Invention are playing the Royal Festival Hall in London. Frank Zappa has booked 14 musicians from the BBC Symphony Orchestra to accompany them during the first part of the show. He had been writing chamber music pieces in the hotel rooms he visited and wanted to try them out. He strung them together by devising a psychodrama he called "Progress?" This was meant (and indeed turned out) to be a one-time performance, so he made sure to record it. He released the whole thing as Ahead of Their Time 25 years later. The first half of the disc is comprised of the "play."

A faction of the Mothers want to play conservative concert music. Don Preston advocates progress with his avant-gardist electronics. He and pianist Ian Underwood battle it out while other frivolous characters (played by members of the Mothers) intervene. It must have been a lot of fun to watch (and it was filmed; parts of it appeared in the movie Uncle Meat), but some of the more visual scenes translate poorly on record. More important is the music itself, which definitely points toward the score to 200 Motels -- it even includes "Holiday in Berlin," which will eventually become a central theme of the film music. The second half of the CD presents the rock part of that night's concert. All instrumental and very focused, it presents Zappa's best tunes from 1967-1968, including the complete sequence that includes "Let's Make the Water Turn Black," "Harry You're a Beast," "The Orange County Lumber Truck," and "Oh No." The sound quality is far from perfect, but this is a crucial document that fans of the '60s Mothers will enjoy.


01 - Prologue
02 - Progress
03 - Like It Or Not
04 - The Jimmy Carl Black Philosophy Lesson
05 - Holding The Group Back
06 - Holiday In Berlin
07 - The Rejected Mexican Pope Leaves The Stage
08 - Undaunted, The Band Plays On
09 - Agency Man
10 - Epilogue
11 - King Kong
12 - Help, I'm A Rock
13 - Transylvania Boogie
14 - Pound For A Brown
15 - Sleeping In A Jar
16 - Let's Make The Water Turn Black
17 - Harry, You're A Beast
18 - The Orange County Lumber Truck (Part I)
19 - Oh No
20 - The Orange County Lumber Truck (Part II)

Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention - Ahead Of Their Time (1993 / 2012)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.