Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Paul McCartney & Wings - London Town (Remastered) (1993) Lossless

15-02-2015, 15:44
Music | Rock | FLAC / APE

Paul McCartney & Wings - London Town (Remastered) (1993) Lossless

Artist: Paul McCartney & Wings
Title Of Album: London Town
Year Of Release: 1993
Genre: Rock, Pop Rock
Format: Flac
Quality: Lossless
Total Time: 60:51 Min
Total Size: 383 Mb


1. London Town
2. Cafe On The Left Bank
3. I'm Carrying
4. Backwards Traveller
5. Cuff Link
6. Children Children
7. Girlfriend
8. I've Had Enough
9. With A Little Luck
10. Famous Groupies
11. Deliver Your Children
12. Name And Adress
13. Don't Let It Bring You Down
14. Morse Moose And They Grey Goose
15. Girls' School
16. Mull Of Kintyre

Digitally remastered reissue of their hit 1978 album, whichstayed at #2 for six weeks in a row! Features the #1 smash'With A Little Luck', plus the title hit & the top 30 'I'veHad Enough', along with two bonus tracks: 'Mull Of Kintyre'& 'Girls' School'. 16 tracks total. 1993 EMI release. Theoriginal was released on EMI/ Parlophone.

History shows that in 1978 Wings were on the downward curve. Within two more years the band was effectively defunct. Only two years previously they were all-conquering. Mr & Mrs Macca then took a year off to drop a sprog and go a-sailing in the Virgin Islands where the early work on London Town was done. By the time of its release the musical landscape had changed. Punk and New-Wave was putting some vim and vigour back into rock'n'roll. With hindsight London Town is the sound of a band breathtakingly out of kilter with the prevailing zeitgeist. As I recall it was initially derided, then largely ignored. That is a shame because there is a great deal to enjoy here. For much of the album Wings were clearly having fun and there is a sense of joyous escapism about `Children Children', `Name & Address' and `Famous Groupies'. But there was no escaping the fact the group had again fractured with the departure of Jimmy and Joe. A very real uncertainty seeps through the performances. "Don't let it bring you down," implores McCartney in one of the standout songs towards the end of the original record. The scorching and metropolitan `Cafe On the Left Bank' notwithstanding much of the best music is in the second half. `With A Little Luck' finds a hesitant McCartney reflecting that it's going to need some good fortune for this whole damn thing to work out. `Deliver Your Children' is one of Wings' best that should have ousted the lamentable `Girlfriend' for a place on the later Wingspan compilation (the latter was written for the Jackson 5 and should definitely have been left to them - it is the low point). `Morse Moose' is unique and superb, part sea-shanty, part wig-out. If you weren't listening in 1978 then there was probably a lot of other great stuff vying for your attention and that is fair enough. But try slipping a little London Town on now, perhaps after some Fleet Foxes, and you may be pleasantly surprised. ( Doublecross)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.