Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Stan Kenton - 50th Anniversary Celebration: Back to Balboa [5CD] (1991) (320 kbps)

14-02-2015, 11:27
Music | Jazz

Stan Kenton -  50th Anniversary Celebration: Back to Balboa [5CD] (1991) (320 kbps)

Artist: Stan Kenton
Title Of Album: 50th Anniversary Celebration: Back to Balboa
Year Of Release: 1991
LabeL: MAMA Foundation
Genre: Jazz, Big Band
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Time: 03:53:19 min
Total Size: 844 mb
WWW: allmusic

During the 50th anniversary of Stan Kenton's debut at the Rendezvous Ballroom on Balboa Island in California (an engagement that served as a spectacular beginning to his career), a four-day convention was held to celebrate the late bandleader's legacy, filled with music by his alumni and very interesting panel discussions. The MAMA Foundation put out many of the highlights on this very impressive five-CD set. The first two CDs have 29 selections by an all-star orchestra (which includes among others, trumpeters Conte and Pete Candoli and saxophonists Bob Cooper, Gabe Baltazar, Bud Shank, Bill Perkins and Jack Nimitz) and such guests as Anita O'Day, Maynard Ferguson and Chris Connor; the original arrangers conducted their own work. The next two discs have individual selections for Bob Florence's Limited Edition (a particularly touching medley of "Artistry in Rhythm" and "All the Things You Are"), Maynard Ferguson's Big Bop Nouveau Band, the Lighthouse All-Stars, big bands led by Shorty Rogers, Buddy Childers, Bill Holman, Tom Talbert and Mark Masters and combos headed by Lee Konitz, Bob Cooper, Gabe Baltazar, Bill Perkins and Bud Shank along with The CSULB Vocal Jazz Ensemble. The performances are quite satisfying and pretty well cover Kenton's entire career. The final disc actually has over two hours taken from the informative, humorous and often-touching panel discussions; one hour is heard in each speaker simultaneously so one side has to be turned off at a time. This valuable set is essential for all listeners having at least a slight interest in Stan Kenton's music.

Stan Kenton -  50th Anniversary Celebration: Back to Balboa [5CD] (1991) (320 kbps)
Volume One [63:54]
01. Artristy In Rhythm (1:43)
02. Eager Beaver (3:24)
03. Intermission Riff (7:56)
04. Opus In Pastels (3:09)
05. Artistry In Percussion (3:00)
06. Peanut Vendor (3:07)
07. Concerto To End All Concertos (6:31)
08. Boogie Woogie (I May Be Wrong) (2:52)
09. Solitaire (5:03)
10. Coop's Solo (4:58)
11. Take The 'A' Train (3:19)
12. Un Poco Loco (4:13)
13. Kingfish (3:55)
14. Stella By Starlight (5:37)
15. Malaguena (5:05)

Volume Two [73:46]
01. Artistry In Rhythm (0:55)
02. Pegasus (5:19)
03. A Baltazar Named Gabe (A Smith Named Greg) (6:34)
04. 23 Degrees North, 82 Degrees West (3:29)
05. All About Ronnie (5:17)
06. Pennies From Heaven (4:09)
07. It's All Right With Me (2:41)
08. The Wind (4:58)
09. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea (3:06)
10. Atonal Adventure (8:57)
11. My Old Flame (5:40)
12. The Big Chase (4:47)
13. Body And Soul (5:48)
14. Neophonic Impressions 65 (12:04)

Disc Three [70:59]
01. Artistry In Rhythm / All The Things You Are (9:04)
02. Be Bop Charlie (8:41)
03. Embraceable You (8:39)
04. Night In Tunisia (12:59)
05. Stone Canyon (8:06)
06. Looking Up Old Friends (7:50)
07. K.C. Tango (10:04)
08. The Bottom Line (5:37)

Disc Four [59:59]
01. Certain Circles (5:24)
02. And Thad Ain't Bad (7:31)
03. Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most (10:22)
04. Intermission Riff (3:04)
05. Midnight Sun (3:54)
06. Artistry In Rhythm / Nightsong (3:04)
07. I Remember You (6:56)
08. Royal Street (5:03)
09. Dangraddy Blue (5:19)
10. Sands Of Time (6:12)
11. From 'City Of Glass' - Part One Entrance (3:12)

Disc Five [73:34]
01. Panel Discussions (1:13:34)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.