Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Mahalia Barnes + The Soul Mates - Volume 1 & 2 (Reissue) (2015)

11-02-2015, 16:42
Music | Soul | R&B

Mahalia Barnes + The Soul Mates - Volume 1 & 2 (Reissue) (2015)

Mahalia Barnes + The Soul Mates - Volume 1 & 2 (Reissue) (2015)

Artist: Mahalia Barnes + The Soul Mates
Title Of Album: Volume 1 & 2
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Liberation Music
Genre: R&B, Soul
Format: Mp3
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 94:20 Min
Total Size: 228 Mb


Volume 1 (2008):
1. How Strong Is a Woman
2. It's a Shame
3. Good Friend
4. Proud Mary
5. We're Still Friends
6. I'm Just Not Ready for Love
7. So Fine
8. Is This a Love
9. Steppin in Her I. Miller Shoes
10. Wasted
11. You Are My Sunshine
12. Never Walk Away

Volume 2 (2011):
1. Don't Hold Back
2. Same Thing Happens
3. Counting On You
4. Little Light
5. Feels Right

After eight years and almost a thousand gigs, Mahalia Barnes is releasing her debut album, Mahalia Barnes + The Soul Mates Volume 1, The eldest daughter of singer Jimmy Barnes, Mahalia has been obsessed with soul music since her teens, However, being the daughter of Australia's most popular singer presents its own set of problems. "That's why I have taken my time," says Mahalia, now in her early twenties. "I needed to make sure I had the sound that I wanted and that I could make an album that's not just like Dad would make or like anyone else would make", For the past decade she has been singing with the Jimmy Barnes band as a back-up and featured vocalist, Then, about eight years ago she started doing her own gigs in soul and jazz clubs around Sydney, Through those club shows she established her own network of musicians. "There's a core group of people I used for this album," explains Mahalia. "Dave Hibbard plays drums, Mark Lizotte (aka Diesel) played all the guitars, Ben Rodgers plays bass, I had Clayton and Lachlan Doley swapping between organ, Wurlitzer, Clavinet and piano, Dad(Jimmy) plays tambourine and shakers over the whole album and I got him to sing b.vs on a track or two". "Then there's the singers; Juanita Tippins who has been singing with me for the last ten years, along with Darren Percival, Gary Pinto and Tina Harrod who is also one of my favourite singers of all time, Jade MacRae came in and sang on a few things and helped me write a couple of songs for the album." There is also the fantastic horn section comprising Andy Bickers, Anthony Kable and Matt Ottignon, who feature on several songs, Jak Housden (who plays on "We're Still Friends") and several others make small guest appearances all over this record, Mahalia co-produced the album with James Freeman, The blueprint for the project was an old-school '60s style revue, Featuring songs written by Mahalia, and cover versions of artists such Aretha Franklin, Ray Charles, Ike and Tina, Donny Hathaway, Betty Davis, and The Ikettes.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.