Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Powder - Ka-Pow! An Explosive Collection 1967-68 (2014)

6-02-2015, 20:16
Music | Rock | Oldies

Powder - Ka-Pow! An Explosive Collection 1967-68 (2014)

Artist: Powder
Title Of Album: Ka-Pow! An Explosive Collection 1967-68
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Big Beat
Genre: Rock
Quality: Mp3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Total Time: 01:13:56
Total Size: 219 Mb
WebSite: amazon

America's 1960s love affair with British rock was probably never articulated better than by the original group known as Powder. Equal parts incisive melody and violent chording, and dripping pop-art flash, the dynamic 1968 recordings by this power trio from the San Francisco Peninsula have an acquired a cult notoriety since they were first uncovered two decades ago. Now with Big Beat's deluxe 'Ka-Pow! An Explosive Collection 1967-68', this remarkable material has been given a further, fully re-mastered, lease of life. Brit-besotted brothers Rich and Tom Martin had been playing surf and garage rock in their native San Mateo since the start of the decade. Joining forces with visiting Kiwi pop star Ray Columbus in 1967, they formed the Art Collection. Later, spotted by Sonny and Cher in a Hollywood nightclub, the group was hired as accompanists for the duo's spring 1968 tour. Now a trio and renamed Powder (as in gunpowder), the act taped an album's worth of original and highly memorable mod-rock at Gold Star in the autumn. The LP never came out, and the Martins eventually emerged on their own as Thomas and Richard Frost, scoring a minor hit in 1969 with the sunshine-pop staple 'She's Got Love'. The earlier Powder and Art Collection material is in a powerful, feedback-strewn mode, drawing upon groups like Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick and Tich and the Smoke as much as the Who and Small Faces to influence their style. Powerpop and freakbeat nuggets 'Turn Another Page', 'Gladly' and 'Magical Jack' indicate what an unusual and accomplished group Powder was. The sonic upgrade on 'Ka-Pow! An Explosive Collection 1967-68' ensures the powerful, feedback-strewn sound of Powder comes to life. Several previously unissued bonus tracks include Columbus and the Art Collection's punk classic 'Kick Me'. The package features lengthy liner notes by Alec Palao and many previously unseen photos and images. With the band touring again, our vintage anthology 'Ka-Pow!' is a perfect introduction to - or reminder of - the magic of Powder.


1. Powder - Turn Another Page (Version 1) (2:43)
2. Powder - Gladly (2:24)
3. Powder - Do I Love You (Version 1) (3:34)
4. Powder - Magical Jack (2:55)
5. Powder - I Try (2:24)
6. Powder - Ruby Red Lips (2:10)
7. Powder - Grimbley Leitch (2:18)
8. Powder - What The People Said (3:17)
9. Powder - Rodeo (3:00)
10. Powder - Flowers (2:19)
11. Powder - Hate To See Her Go (3:36)
12. Powder - Let's Look At The Moon (3:17)
13. Powder - Too Many Miles (2:31)
14. Ray Columbus & The Art Collection - Kick Me (I Think I'm Dreaming) (2:41)
15. Ray Columbus & The Art Collection - Snap, Crackle & Pop (2:16)
16. The Art Collection - Millicent (2:27)
17. The Art Collection - I Go To School (3:06)
18. The Art Collection - I'm A Boy & You're A Girl (2:42)
19. The Art Collection - So Sad About Us (2:58)
20. The Art Collection - She's My Girl (2:45)
21. The Art Collection - What The World Needs Now/Tired Of Waiting For You (4:04)
22. The Art Collection - Morning (2:13)
23. Powder - Turn Another Page (Version 2) (2:46)
24. Powder - Grimbley Leitch (Alternative Vocal) (2:11)
25. Powder - Do I Love You (Version 2) (3:27)
26. Ray Columbus & The Art Collection - Kick Me (I Think I'm Dreaming (Alt. Version) (3:52)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.