Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Les Double Six - Les Double Six [Reissue] (1962/1987)

28-01-2015, 13:14
Music | Jazz | Vocal Jazz | FLAC / APE

Les Double Six - Les Double Six [Reissue] (1962/1987)

Artist: Les Double Six
Title Of Album: Les Double Six
Year Of Release: 1962/1987
Label: OWL / CD-1518
Genre: Vocal Jazz, Post Bop
Total Time: 68:17 min
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 164 mb / 462 mb

This French import, from songs recorded in 1959-1961, is a showcase for the composer/producer Quincy Jones. The six member group includes Ward Swingle, singer and arranger for the Swingle Singers, and "Les Double Six" is a clear antecedent for his subsequent work. With original French lyrics written by Mimi Perrin, the tracks, such as "Naima," "Moanin'" and "Fascinatin' Rhythm" feature vocals doubling as instruments, and capture the essence and fluidity of the lines with startling accuracy (particularly in the upper registers sung by Christiane Legrand, who was in the French incarnation of the Swingles as well). About half the compositions are by Jones; all are accompanied by a trio of piano, bass and drums. Twenty songs, including the previously unreleased "Walkin'" - a ten plus minute smorgasbord of sound - are practically as satisfying as a round-trip ticket to Paris!


1. Tickle-Toe (Le racket et les balles) 2:30
2. Early Autumn (Finalement l'automne est arrivé) 3:20
3. Sweets (Les quatres de l'Opéra) 2:40
4. Naima 4:20
5. Westwood Walk (L'histoire d'un baryton) 2:45
6. A Night in Tunisia (Le tapis volant) 3:00
7. A Ballad (Une ballade) 3:05
8. Scrapple From the Apple (A batons rompus) 2:55
9. Boplicity (La légende du troubadour) 2:55
10. Moanin' (La complainte du bagnard) 3:05
11. Fascinating Rhythm (Le pas qui plaira) 2:40
12. For Lena and Lennie (En flanant dans Paris) 4:00
13. Rat Race (La course au rat) 2:28
14. Stockholm Sweetnin' (Un coin merveilleux) 5:30
15. Boo's Bloos (Au temps des indiens) 4:52
16. Doodlin' (Tout en dodelinant) 4:22
17. Meet Benny Bailey (Au bout du fil) 2:43
18. Evening in Paris (Il y a fort longtemps) 4:20
19. Count'em (T'as foutu l'camp) 5:06



cbr 320 kbps


ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted