Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Pauline Murray & The Invisible Girls - Pauline Murray & The Invisible Girls [Remastered Deluxe Edition] (1980/2014)

27-01-2015, 15:12
Music | Pop | Rock | Alternative | Punk | FLAC / APE

Pauline Murray & The Invisible Girls - Pauline Murray & The Invisible Girls [Remastered Deluxe Edition] (1980/2014)

Artist: Pauline Murray & The Invisible Girls
Title Of Album: Pauline Murray & The Invisible Girls
Year Of Release: 1980/2014
Label: Les Disques Du Crepuscule / TWI 016CD
Genre: Synthpop, New Wave, Coldwave, Gothic Rock
Total Time: 2:23:22
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 344 mb / 976 mb

Pauline Murray and the Invisible Girls is the debut album by post/punk icon Pauline Murray, co-produced by revered sonic architect Martin 'Zero' Hannett.

Recorded at the famous Strawberry Studios in July 1980, the album offered 11 slices of modern electronic pop written by Pauline and partner Robert Blamire and marked a radical departure from their shared past in pioneering punk band Penetration. As well producer/arrangers Martin Hannett and Steve Hopkins (aka the Invisible Girls), the album features a stellar cast of guest musicians including John Maher (Buzzcocks) and Vini Reilly (Durutti Column). Indeed Pauline Murray and the Invisible Girls presents almost as a Factory record, exquisitely sleeved by Peter Saville and Trevor Key.

Stand-out tracks include popular singles Dream Sequence and Mr X, with the newly remastered Hannett tracks now augmented on CD (TWI 016 CD) by a wealth of bonus material including non-album singles, live recordings (from tours in 1980 and 1981) and a John Peel session (March 1980). The vinyl version (TWI 016) augments the album with singles, the Peel session, and a bonus CD of instrumental versions - a must for Hannett scholars!

"It's a bit of a missing link album," says Pauline today. "Written and recorded after punk, but before Martin Rushent and the Human League made airy pop respectable again. We chose the other Martin in 1980 because we wanted the incredible sounds he achieved for Joy Division and Magazine. Thundertunes, basically."

Cover art by Trevor Key and Peter Saville. Detailed liner notes. Available on trifold digipack CD, gatefold double vinyl and digital download in September 2014.

A limited edition hand-stamped 'Invisible Box' set (100 copies only) is also available including both the vinyl and CD formats plus a portrait print signed by Pauline and Robert and a unique PM t-shirt designed by Vaughan Oliver (of 23 Envelope/4AD) in 1981. Each box is also numbered with invisible ink (which shows up under UV light) The box set is priced at ВЈ50.00 GBP plus courier shipping at cost and available to order now (please state preferred t-shirt size).


Disc 1:
1. Screaming In The Darkness (3:36)
2. Dream Sequence I (3:18)
3. European Eyes (3:22)
4. Shoot You Down (2:08)
5. Sympathy (2:50)
6. Time Slipping (4:03)
7. Drummer Boy (3:04)
8. Thundertunes (3:22)
9. When Will We Learn (3:39)
10. Mr X (4:27)
11. Judgement Day (4:26)
12. Searching For Heaven (2:59)
13. The Visitor (3:44)
14. Animal Crazy (3:17)
15. Dream Sequence II (4:02)
16. Two Shots (4:05)
17. Shoot You Down (Peel Session) (2:05)
18. Sympathy (Peel Session) (2:44)
19. When Will We Learn (Peel Session) (3:30)
20. Dream Sequence (Peel Session) (3:37)

Disc 2:
1. Screaming In The Darkness (Live 3/5/81) (3:28)
2. Searching For Heaven (Live 3/5/81) (2:51)
3. Time Slipping (Live 3/5/81) (3:35)
4. Dream Sequence (Live 3/5/81) (3:09)
5. Two Shots (Live 3/5/81) (3:21)
6. When Will We Learn (Live 1981)
7. Mr X (Live 3/5/81) (3:52)
8. Animal Crazy (Live 3/5/81) (2:52)
9. European Eyes (Live 3/4/81) (2:57)
10. Thundertunes (Live 3/4/81) (3:04)
11. Animal Crazy (Live 3/4/81) (3:01)
12. Time Slipping (Live 3/4/81) (3:32)
13. Dream Sequence (Live 3/4/81) (3:31)
14. Two Shots (Live 3/4/81) (3:44)
15. Sympathy (Live 10/80) (2:44)
16. Dream Sequence (Live 10/80) (3:18)
17. Time Slipping (Live 10/80) (3:27)
18. Drummer Boy (Live 10/80) (3:30)
19. European Eyes (Live 10/80) (3:02)
20. Thundertunes (Live 10/80) (3:15)
21. Shoot You Down (Live 10/80) (2:04)
22. Judgement Day (Live 10/80) (4:13)
23. When Will We Learn (Live 10/80) (3:16)

Pauline Murray: lead vocals
Robert Blamire: bass
Martin Hannett: keyboards, producer
Steve Hopkins: keyboards, producer
Vini Reilly: guitar
John Maher: drums
Paul Burgess (probably): drums
Dave Rowbotham: guitar
Dave Hassell: percussion
Alan Rawlings: guitar (only 12)
Wayne Hussey: guitar (only 12 and 13)
Bernard Sumner: guitar (only 14)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted