Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Garrick Ohlsson - Franz Schubert: Piano Sonatas Nos. 13, 16 and Wanderer Fantasy (2014)

22-01-2015, 11:45
Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Garrick Ohlsson - Franz Schubert: Piano Sonatas Nos. 13, 16 and Wanderer Fantasy (2014)

Artist: Garrick Ohlsson
Album: Franz Schubert: Piano Sonatas Nos. 13, 16 and Wanderer Fantasy
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: DUX
Genre: Classical
Quality: 320 kbps | Lossless
Format: MP3 | FLAC
Total Time: 01:17:58
Total Size: 178 mb | 210 mb


01. I. Allegro moderato (7:53)
02. II. Andante (5:04)
03. III. Allegro (7:44)
04. I. Allegro con fuoco ma non troppo (6:12)
05. II. Adagio (7:18)
06. III. Presto (5:24)
07. IV. Allegro (3:51)
08. I. Moderato (8:33)
09. II. Andante poco moto (12:04)
10. III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace (8:23)
11. IV. Rondo. Allegro vivace (5:31)

While Garrick Ohlsson's concert repertoire has long included the music of Franz Schubert, it is under-represented on recordings, so this CD from Dux may provide the first opportunity for many to hear it. With meticulous care and subtle expression, Ohlsson presents two piano sonatas and the sonata-like "Wanderer" Fantasy, to give a balanced program that shows the development of Schubert's music in the brief period of 1819 to 1825. In spite of its opus posthumous catalog numbering, the Piano Sonata in A major was a relatively youthful composition that went unpublished in Schubert's lifetime, unlike the Piano Sonata in A minor, Op. 42, and the "Wanderer" Fantasy, which were published shortly after they were written. In this opening selection, Ohlsson presents the sonata without a trace of sentimentality, but conveys the freshness of Schubert's ideas and the light tone that are associated with his Classical early works. By the time he composed the "Wanderer" Fantasy in 1822, Schubert had started expanding his compositions to greater lengths and a wider range of expressions. Ohlsson plays this work with a muscularity that would be appropriate in Beethoven, though Schubert's lyricism is always treated with care and refinement, even in the most physically taxing passages. The introduction of a plaintive and more intimate tone gives the Piano Sonata in A minor a fragile character that is at odds with its volatility and spikiness, though Ohlsson changes moods with mercurial ease, in keeping with the music's sudden mood shifts. This album is a much needed addition to Ohlsson's discography and hopefully a sign of more Schubert offerings to come.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted

Pelteus   User offline   22 January 2015 20:48

thanks a lot ВЎВЎ wonderful

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.