Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Julius Katchen - Julius Katchen plays Liszt, Brahms, Beethoven, Schumann and Chopin (2014)

21-01-2015, 12:39
Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Julius Katchen - Julius Katchen plays Liszt, Brahms, Beethoven, Schumann and Chopin (2014)

Artist: Julius Katchen
Album: Julius Katchen plays Liszt, Brahms, Beethoven, Schumann and Chopin
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: audite Musikproduktion
Genre: Classical
Quality: 320 kbps | Lossless
Format: MP3 | FLAC
Total Time: 01:48:54
Total Size: 249 mb | 300 mb


01. Sonata in B Minor, S. 178 (Lento assai) (27:25)
02. Seven Fantasias, Op. 116 : I. Presto energico (2:01)
03. Seven Fantasias, Op. 116 : II. Intermezzo. Andante (3:34)
04. Seven Fantasias, Op. 116 : III. Capriccio. Allegro passionato (2:32)
05. Seven Fantasias, Op. 116 : IV. Intermezzo. Adagio (4:25)
06. Seven Fantasias, Op. 116 : V. Intermezzo. Andante con (3:31)
07. Seven Fantasias, Op. 116 : VI. Intermezzo. Andantino (3:50)
08. Seven Fantasias, Op. 116 : VII. Capriccio. Allegro agitato (2:07)
09. Six Piano Pieces, Op. 118 : II. Intermezzo. Andante (5:55)
10. Six Piano Pieces, Op. 118 : V. Romanze. Andante (3:59)
11. Scherzo in E-Flat Minor, Op. 4 (8:14)
12. 32 Variations in C Minor, WoO 80 (9:51)
13. Rondo a capriccio, Op. 129 (5:00)
14. Waldszenen, Op. 82: VII. Vogel als Prophet (3:21)
15. Nocturne, Op. 9 : II. Andante (4:26)
16. Ballade, Op. 47 (7:35)
17. Nocturne, Op. 27 : II. Lento sostenuto (6:42)
18. Berceuse, Op. 57 (Andante) (4:26)

This anthology of Julius Katchen's complete solo recordings made during two recording blocks in 1962 and 1964, expands Katchen's discography by as many as six first releases: Beethoven's Rondo Op. 129, Rage Over a Lost Penny , Chopin's A flat major Ballade, the two famous Nocturnes Op. 9, 1 and Op. 27, 2, the late Berceuse, and finally Liszt's Piano Sonata in B minor, one of the pillars of nineteenth century piano music. Katchen's energetic and virtuosic reading of the Liszt sonata ranks highly amongst the great recordings of this piece. However, his interpretations of the works by Chopin, Beethoven and the late Brahms, thanks to his natural combination of virtuosity, musicianship and sense of form, are also documents of magnificently timeless piano-playing. Julius Katchen (1926-1969), who died tragically early of leukaemia, represented, alongside Leon Fleisher, Gary Graffman and William Kapell the generation of the so-called OYAPs (""Outstanding Young American Pianists"") who from 1940 onwards established themselves as strong and enduring competition to the European pianists who had dominated American concert stages until that point. Katchen had been born into a Russian-Jewish family of immigrants in the state of New Jersey and made his debut aged only ten with Mozart's D minor Concerto; in the following year he was invited by Eugene Ormandy to take part in a concert with the Philadelphia Orchestra as the youngest ever soloist in the history of that orchestra; a year after that he gave his solo debut in New York. In 1946 Katchen moved to Paris, becoming one of the most active American musical ambassadors in Europe. His extensive discography, at whose centre are the complete piano works of Brahms, shows him to be a sophisticated virtuoso of the new type, for whom pianistic brilliance was no raison d'etre as such, but instead served a deep intellectual and emotional penetration of the music. This release is furnished with a ""producer's comment"" by Ludger Boeckenhoff.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.