Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Pete Levin and Tony Levin - Levin Brothers (2014)

20-01-2015, 13:19

Pete Levin and Tony Levin - Levin Brothers (2014)

Artist: Pete Levin and Tony Levin
Album: Levin Brothers
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Lazy Bones / URP Music Distribution
Genre: Jazz
Quality: 320 kbps
Format: MP3
Total Time: 00:55:46
Total Size: 133 mb


01. Levin Brothers - Bassics
02. Levin Brothers - Brothers
03. Levin Brothers - Mysterioso
04. Levin Brothers - Not So Square Dance
05. Levin Brothers - Jumpin Jammies
06. Levin Brothers - Cello in the Night
07. Levin Brothers - Havana
08. Levin Brothers - Special Delivery
09. Levin Brothers - I Got Your Bach
10. Levin Brothers - Matte Kudasai
11. Levin Brothers - Ostropolya
12. Levin Brothers - Gimme Some Scratch
13. Levin Brothers - I Remember
14. Levin Brothers - When Sasha Gets the Blues
15. Levin Brothers - Brookline Boyz
16. Levin Brothers - Fishy Takes a Walk

For 40-plus years, Pete and Tony Levin have performed and recorded with some of the biggest names in jazz and rock, but Levin Brothers (Lazy Bones) is their first-ever co-led album. They had one shared goal in mind for the recording: to recreate “cool jazz” in the mold of their heroes, Oscar Pettiford, Julius Watkins and Miles Davis. In preparation for the release, the Levins contacted a prominent jazz manager to help them navigate today’s market.
“When this manager saw the album cover, he said, ‘This screams jazz!’” Tony recalls. “We looked at each other and thought, ‘Great!’ But the manager said, ‘No, no. That’s terrible! That’s the worst thing you can do! Nowadays you have to not look like a jazz group.’ We were shocked. That’s an unfortunate statement for the industry, but it’s funny to us. We’re thinking, ‘If it screams jazz—no problem!’ We’re proud of that. Oops!”
The 16 songs on Levin Brothers capture the graceful swing of such classic Pettiford-Watkins releases as The New Oscar Pettiford Sextet (Debut, 1953) and Julius Watkins Sextet (Blue Note, 1955). Accompanied by Jeff Siegel and Steve Gadd (drums), David Spinoza (guitar) and Eric Lawrence (tenor saxophone), with Pete on grand piano and Tony on upright bass and cello, the sibling duo finds that brotherly love can run absolutely cool when necessary.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.