Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Doghouse Sam & His Magnatones - Knock Knock (2014)

2-02-2016, 21:31
Blues | Rock | FLAC / APE

Title: Knock Knock
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Blues Boulevard
Genre: Blues, Blues Rock
Quality: 320/Flac
Total Time: 38:51
Total Size: 104/272 Mb


1. Something's Wrong
2. Kings & Queens -
3. Knock Knock
4. Road
5. All It Takes
6. All I Need Outta You
7. Doghouse Boogie
8. Time Takes Care
9. Ce Qui Est Fait, Est Fait
10. Scratch A Lie
11. You Snooze, You Lose
12. Fine Ain't Good Enough
13. Tell A Tale
14. Walking Stardust

Doghouse Sam & His Magnatones return with their second album. Once again produced by Mischa den Haring of T-99 fame, 'Knock Knock' is an exhilarating album of hair-raising, furious, rough at the edges Blues, chock-full of memorable songs performed with heaps of gusto. Doghouse Sam's intense mix of raw Blues & electric Americana has been described as a cross between The Paladins and Howlin Wolf.

An upright bass, drums and a hollow-body guitar, are this band s weapons of choice. Instruments with which they scrape the music back to the bare essentials, playing their Blues pure and raw; hardly leaving meat on the bone. Sam; a devotee of vintage electric guitars (many of them discards he finds on the Internet) was originally influenced by players such as Rick Holmstrom, Junior Watson, Anders Lewén (the guy that wrote 'Memphis Guitar Soul for the very successful video game 'Shooter Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Vietnam'), Alex Schultz, Jonas Göransson (who played with Chip Taylor and Mike Sanchez), and Danny Kordelius not exactly your typical household-guitarist names, but hey, by now you ve caught on that Sam is a different kind of! Over time Sam has developed a playing-style very much his own now, and his wailing harmonica and distinctive voice furthermore confirm him as a talented multi instrumentalist and Bluesman pur-sang. And by the way he writes all the band s material: music and lyrics! Before hooking up with his Magnatones, Wouter Celis a.k.a. Doghouse Sam had already established himself on the scene as a member of the acclaimed Blues outfit The Rhythm Bombs , with whom he played over 500 gigs around Europe in just a few short years. Today Sam s doghouse companions, the Magnatones, consist of Jack Fire o Roonie on bass, who ranks among the greats of double bass, having garnered this well-deserved reputation while a member of The Wild Ones before backing the likes of Ike Turner, Ronnie Dawson and a stint with The Seatsniffers. On the drum-stool Sam recruited Frankie Gomez (previously with TEE and TB4Q), voted best drummer in the Netherlands. Mucho mojo is part of the natural fibre of Doghouse Sam and his Magnatones, and they extract it from the depths of their soul; high-octane fuel powering their energetic performances each and every time they get on stage, whether it s in a smoky club, or before an audience of thousands such as the Belgian Rhythm & Blues Festival one of the largest festivals of the musical genre where they practically debuted last year. Their debut album, 'Buddha Blue' (Oct. 2012) was produced by Mischa den Haring of T 99 fame, and contained 13 songs, blending their individual styles with ease, from the fast-paced 'I ain't Got Time' to the more roots-rock sound of 'It Ain't Easy'. Refreshing accents such as the honky-tonk piano on 'Roll Up My Sleeves' added variety to mighty fine Blues album, unobtrusively produced and combining precise vocals with razor-sharp musicianship.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
4 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.