Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Something New To Do: The Phillip Mitchell Songbook (2013) Lossless

26-12-2014, 15:42
Music | Soul | Funk | R&B | FLAC / APE

VA - Something New To Do: The Phillip Mitchell Songbook (2013) Lossless

Artist: VA
Title Of Album: Something New To Do: The Phillip Mitchell Songbook
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Kent
Genre: R&B/Soul, Funk
Quality: FLAC
Total Time: 76:28 min
Total Size: 450 MB


01. John Edwards / Cold Hearted Woman
02. Mel & Tim / Free For All (Winner Takes All)
03. Garland Green / (You Gotta) come Through Me
04. Ernie Shelby / Carry Me
05. Sidney Joe Qualls / I Don't Do This (To Every Girl I Meet)
06. Joe Simon / It Be's That Way Sometime
07. Arche Bell & The Drells / Archie's In Love
08. Bobby Womack / Something For My Head
09. Erma Coffee / You Made Me What I Am
10. J. J. Williams / Gonna Have A Murder On Your Hands
11. Phillip Mitchell / Little Things
12. Katie Love & The Four Shades Of Black / It Hurts So Good
13. Mary Wells / If You Can't Give Her Love (Give Her Up)
14. Johnnie Taylor / Starting All Over Again
15. The Staple Singers / Trippin' On Your Love
16. Bobo Mr Soul / Hitch Hiking To Heartbreak Road
17. Candi Staton / Here I Am Again
18. Bobby Sheen / Something New To Do
19. Dorothy Moore / The Only Time You Ever Say You Love Me (Is When We're Making Love)
20. Average White Band & Ben E. King / A Star In The Ghetto
21. Tommie Lee / That's The Way I Wanna Live My Life
22. Millie Jackson / Leftovers
23. Corey Blake / How Can I Go On Without You

With Kent's Songwriter Series well established as a regular feature of the Ace catalogue, they felt it was time to salute more great tunesmiths whose success as writers has been largely confined to the soul/R&B market. Few are more deserving than Phillip Mitchell a cult hero to many soul fans as a writer and a singer, and a man whose catalogue of songs is as consistently good as it is prolific. His songs have been recorded by some of the biggest names in soul particularly during the 1970s, when his name appeared under the title of many high-profile 45s. A quick perusal of the artists featured here will demonstrate how highly Phillip's songs were rated by his peers. It was not easy to whittle the mountain of great versions of Mitchell songs down to a representative 23 and there s plenty of scope for a follow up if this one sells as well as Kent expect. In-depth annotation, copious illustrations and a value-for-money, near 80 minutes worth of music will make this a must for every serious soul enthusiast.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.