Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Ofra Hanoy, Cincinnati Orchestra, Kunzel - Offenbach's World: Gaite Parisienne, Cello Concerto, La Belle Helene (1986)

3-10-2016, 17:02
Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Title: Offenbach's World: Gaite Parisienne, Cello Concerto, La Belle Helene
Year Of Release: 1986
Label: Regis
Genre: Classical
Quality: APE (image+.cue)
Total Time: 01:16:21
Total Size: 323 Mb


01. Overture: La Vie Parisienne
02. Allegro brillante (Mesdames de la ballet)
03. Polka (Voyages dans la lune)
04. Galop (La Vie Parisienne)
05. Waltz (Orpheus in the Underworld)
06. March (Tromb-al-Cazar)
07. Waltz (La Perichole)
08. Intro to Can-Can/ Can-Can No.1 (Robinson Crusoe)
09. Can-Can No.3 (La Vie Parisienne)
10. Can-Can No.4 (Orpheus in the Underworld)
11. Barcarolle (Tales of Hoffmann)
12. Souvenir d'Aix-les-Bains Valse
13. Overture d'une Grande Orchestre
14. Overture: Orpheus in the Underworld
15. La Belle Helene
16. Concerto Rondo for Cello and Orchestra

Ofra Harnoy (cello in concerto)
Cincinnati Orchestra, Erich Kunzel

Even though this album by Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra gives a well-rounded presentation of Jacques Offenbach's music, drawing on his most popular works listeners may find that the shallow audio is a serious drawback. Recorded in 1980 and 1983 for Vox's album Vive La France!, the sound is all-digital, but it has the coldness and lack of dimensions that many DDD recordings of the time suffer from, and there is a recessed quality to the orchestra, as if heard through a filter. Beyond the flat reproduction, the music itself is fairly entertaining, if a little heavy-handed -- one usually doesn't hear Gaîté Parisienne (Manuel Rosenthal's arrangement of Offenbach tunes, though presented here in a truncated version) played with such a deliberate beat; the overtures to Orphée aux enfers and La belle Hélène are a little tired feeling, and not as elegant, humorous, and pointed as they should be. Perhaps the best reason to get this CD is for the less familiar selections, the waltz Souvenir d'Aix-les-Bains, the Overture d'une Grande Orchestre, and the showcase for a young Ofra Harnoy, the Concerto Rondo for cello and orchestra; these pieces are quite hard to find elsewhere, so having them here is a plus. But if obscure Offenbachiana is not your interest, there are better recordings of the overtures by other conductors and orchestras, and the classic recording of the complete Gaîté Parisienne remains Arthur Fiedler's brilliant version with the Boston Pops on RCA.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.