Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Barry Douglas - Celtic Reflections (2014) Lossless

22-12-2014, 06:46
Music | Classical Music | Celtic | FLAC / APE

Barry Douglas - Celtic Reflections (2014) Lossless

Artist: Barry Douglas
Title Of Album: Celtic Reflections
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Chandos
Genre: Celtic, Classical
Quality: FLAC
Total Time: 59:50 min
Total Size: 216 MB
WebSite: amazon


01. She Moved Through the Fair (4:13)
02. The Coolin (An Chúilfhionn) (7:19)
03. Down by the Salley Gardens (3:30)
04. The Cliffs of Dooneen (2:54)
05. Inis (7:11)
06. Open the Door Softly (Oscail an Doras Go Ciúin) (0:45)
07. The Pleasant Rocks (Na Creaga Áille) (2:36)
08. The Mushroom Tree (2:07)
09. The Kid on the Mountain (1:19)
10. My Lagan Love (4:21)
11. Carrickfergus (4:58)
12. Planxty Dillon (Plancstaí Uí Dhiolúin) (1:15)
13. Lament for Owen Roe O'Neill (Caoineadh Eoin Uí Néill) (2:20)
14. An Irish Lullaby (Suantraí Gaelach) (3:15)
15. The Last Rose of Summer (2:53)
16. Home Away from Home (4:10)
17. The Raggle Taggle Gypsy (1:04)
18. Danny Boy (3:10)

Barry Douglas is best-known for his celebrated performances of great works central to the classical repertoire, not least through his acclaimed Brahms and Schubert series on Chandos. In his new disc Celtic Reflections we hear another side to his musical life. Playing his own arrangements, he explores the melodies of his native Ireland, from ancient folk tunes passed down through the ages to pieces by contemporary songwriters. He is joined by the talented young flautist Eimear McGeown who, as well as being an accomplished classical player, is a renowned and passionate exponent of the traditional Irish flute which she plays in this recording.

Many of the arrangements are based on transcriptions of folksongs and folk tunes that offer a glimpse of Celtic cultures past. The melody for 'My Lagan Love' had been passed down aurally for generations before the musicologist Hector Hughes transcribed it in the early twentieth century, while the folksong collector Edward Bunting transcribed 'Irish Lullaby' at the last-ever gathering of old Irish harpers in 1792. Well-known folk tunes heard here, such as 'Danny Boy' and 'Carrickfergus', trace their roots far back in history and have come to represent Ireland in the popular imagination. Barry Douglas's caring arrangements breathe new life into this music and transport us on a journey across the centuries.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted

platico   User offline   22 May 2015 22:13

Gracias por compartir...

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.