Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Rebecca Kilgore & Dave Frishberg - The Starlit Hour

18-12-2014, 04:27
Jazz | Vocal Jazz

Rebecca Kilgore & Dave Frishberg - The Starlit Hour

Artist: Rebecca Kilgore & Dave Frishberg
Title Of Album: The Starlit Hour
Year Of Release: 2006
Label: Arbors Records, Inc.
Genre: Jazz / Vocal Jazz
Quality: Mp3
Bitrate: 320kbps / 44.1kHz / Joint-Stereo
Total Time: 59:59 min
Total Size: 136 MB

01. I Hear Music
02. Glad to be Unhappy
03. Got a Date With An Angel
04. Not Mine
05. You Smell So Good
06. VocГЄ E Eu
07. The Starlit Hour
08. Song Of The Islands
09. Thief In The Night
10. I Hear The Music Now
11. Thanks For The Memory
12. It's The Talk Of The Town
13. Memphis in June
14. Ten Cents a Dance
15. Cry Me A River
16. I Go ForThat
17. Everthing Happens To Me
18. How Long, How Long Blues/ Song Of The Wanderer
19. Evenin'

There was something special about Rebecca Kilgore and Dave Frishberg's long-running engagement at the Heathman Hotel in Portland, Ore. Unfortunately, the gig ended in 1997. The good news is that one evening in February of that year, Alan Garren of the delightfully named Waltzing Bear Audio captured an hour of their collaboration. Garren's recording is up close and perfectly balanced. Musical, cheerful, literate and faultlessly in tune, Kilgore sang 17 songs. Frishberg was at the piano, not opening his mouth. Famous as a songwriter and singer, he is less well known these days as an accompanist and soloist. He is, however, a world-class pianist, favored in his salad days by Zoot Sims, Al Cohn, Jimmy Rushing, Carmen McRae and Ben Webster. His work with Kilgore, including two solo features, is a firm reminder of that. From her enormous repertoire, Kilgore chose familiar songs like "Cry Me a River,"

"Everything Happens to Me" and "It's the Talk of the Town." She also presented wonderful obscurities, among them "Not Mine," "You Smell So Good," "Thief in the Night" and "The Starlit Hour." She is an optimist. In "Glad to Be Unhappy," she sounds glad, and means it. An accomplished musician who knows chords, Kilgore could no doubt scat. She chooses not to, rather like Mark Twain's gentleman who knows how to play the accordion but refrains from doing so. She creates variations on melodies, works wonders with lyrics and swings. She doesn't need to scat to be a jazz singer.
~ Doug Ramsey

Personnel: Dave Frishberg (piano); Rebecca Kilgore (vocals).

Turbobit: Download

Rapidgator: Download

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.